Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I've never had bok choy before and found this delicious recipe. I only used 1/2 a pound, so I scaled down all the ingredients. I used all the ingredients except the red pepper flakes, but used them my own way, like I minced the ginger instead of grating it, and I added a drop of chili oil and olive oil instead of vegetable. The only other difference is I cooked the bok choy in the sauce rather than afterward. It was excellent. The sauce is amazing, and I wish I'd made more. Next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Great recipe! The ONLY change I made was that I cut the water down to 1 Tablespoon since Bok Choy is such a watery vegetable to start with. I love the veggie, but have had trouble cooking it correctly---this recipe hit the mark! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron Station, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
The garlic sauce is amazing and can be added to other dishes or combined with a peanut sauce to add a little extra to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daughter of Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was delicious!!! Both my husband and I loved it. I didn't change a thing, except adding 1 tbsp of sake. It came out GREAT. As other reviewers have said, it does make a lot of sauce, but it's perfect to serve with rice. The sauce is delicious, I want to stir fly other veggies using this sauce!!! Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laneko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
The sauce for this recipes is awesome and full of flavor! I made it exactly according to the recipe. I am new to stir fry so I was leary of the oyster sauce (hate oysters so why would I want to flavor my food with it) but it turned out awesome. The second time I made it I added a little corn starch to the liquid to thicken it a bit since the sauce is very thin. I will definitely do that from now on. Also, if you like the taste of fresh ginger, but don't feel like you use it often enough, buy a root and freeze it. Whenever I have a recipe that calls for ginger, I pull out my frozen ginger root, shave off a few pieces with my knife and pop it back in the freezer until next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was so good! I've never had bok choy before trying this recipe. It was delicious! I didn't have oyster sauce, so I just added a little extra soy sauce. I also halved the sugar since I'm not big on sweet. I will definitely be making this again. It had such a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is the best bok choy recipe I've ever made. Truly authentic. We made it exactly according to the instructions and it was the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is very easy to make, and quite tasty. I'm just getting into bok choy and this was a fine introduction, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
DIdn't have oyster sauce on hand, so maybe that made a difference. Overall, it was good and felt like a healthy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I added more veggies. This was really good. I added more veggies to the dish beside bok choy. I added broccoli, string beans, mushrooms, canned baby corn, and bean sprout. Cooked all the hard veggies first. I sauteed the garlic and ginger first and added the rest of the ingredient to the pan towards the end. It was GOOOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanavaorry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States