Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I omitted the ginger (don't care for it), used vegetarian mushroom oyster sauce (to make it vegetarian), and used Sriracha instead of the red pepper flakes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I got Bok Choy in my CSA box this week so I tried out this recipe, we'd never had it before so it was a tasty experiment. The recipe is pretty good, I added some red Chinese long beans I grew for color and flavor and served it over brown sticky rice. I used the extra sauce to glaze some shrimp skewers and broiled them, just perfect for this. It could use a tad more ginger and garlic, but otherwise it was well liked by the whole family, even my 8 year old. I'd eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Greenfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden, Missouri, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I love this recipe! I use the garlic sauce for all of my stir-fries. I especially like to add tofu to the bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezmars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
great use for my extra bok choy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very good. I'm a vegetarian so I skipped the oyster sauce. Instead used a tablespoon of mango sauce and did not use sugar. Great, easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I had only tasted bok choy from the chinese food buffet before I tried this recipe and always thought it could've been done better. This recipe makes it the best! The sauce is delicious and would be good as a marinade for chicken, shrimp or pork. I had to substitue a few things for what I had on hand including dried ginger, hot sesame oil, garlic chili paste, teaspoon of seasame seeds, light brown sugar and regular fish sauce. It turned out much better than I had expected. I can't wait to make more of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was a hit! Since bok choy wilts upon cooking (like other leafy greens), I will purchase 2lbs next time & double the sauce. I used baby bok choy & my family of 3 was fighting over the veggies because 1lb wasn't enough. I omitted the oyster sauce since I didn't have it on hand. As others have stated, the sauce was awesome. Nice combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
i've been looking for a good oyster sauce for a while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Pretty good. I made it without the sesame oil (an allergic family member or I'd have used it) and had it with white rice for dinner. Nothing else. The bok choy I used was a huge bunch. Giant. Even the picky eater liked it. Yay and thanks Spyce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Delicious! The good thing about this sauce is that you can use it with any hearty, leafy greens. My kids LOVE this one as opposed to other similar recipes because this adds a hint of sweetness with the brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States