Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Luvin Spoonful
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Quick, easy and tasty! I added shrimp with the finishing sauce. This dish does not need rice as an accompaniment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvin Spoonful

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This recipe was soooo yummy! I broiled some salmon with lemon and salt and then ate the bok choy and fish over a big bowl of white rice- the sauce poured over it just made this dish so umami! I think next time I will cut the bok choy into smaller pieces and use half the oil. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I omitted the ginger (don't care for it), used vegetarian mushroom oyster sauce (to make it vegetarian), and used Sriracha instead of the red pepper flakes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I got Bok Choy in my CSA box this week so I tried out this recipe, we'd never had it before so it was a tasty experiment. The recipe is pretty good, I added some red Chinese long beans I grew for color and flavor and served it over brown sticky rice. I used the extra sauce to glaze some shrimp skewers and broiled them, just perfect for this. It could use a tad more ginger and garlic, but otherwise it was well liked by the whole family, even my 8 year old. I'd eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Greenfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden, Missouri, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I love this recipe! I use the garlic sauce for all of my stir-fries. I especially like to add tofu to the bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezmars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
great use for my extra bok choy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri McCall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very good. I'm a vegetarian so I skipped the oyster sauce. Instead used a tablespoon of mango sauce and did not use sugar. Great, easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I had only tasted bok choy from the chinese food buffet before I tried this recipe and always thought it could've been done better. This recipe makes it the best! The sauce is delicious and would be good as a marinade for chicken, shrimp or pork. I had to substitue a few things for what I had on hand including dried ginger, hot sesame oil, garlic chili paste, teaspoon of seasame seeds, light brown sugar and regular fish sauce. It turned out much better than I had expected. I can't wait to make more of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was a hit! Since bok choy wilts upon cooking (like other leafy greens), I will purchase 2lbs next time & double the sauce. I used baby bok choy & my family of 3 was fighting over the veggies because 1lb wasn't enough. I omitted the oyster sauce since I didn't have it on hand. As others have stated, the sauce was awesome. Nice combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
i've been looking for a good oyster sauce for a while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States