Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was great! I haven't eaten bok choy very much in the past because I hadn't found any recipes that were very special. I'll be doing this one again and again! I didn't have any oyster sauce, so I took the recommendation of another reviewer who used black bean sauce and hoisin sauce instead. I went heavier on the black bean sauce than hoisin sauce. [Added later...] As an update, I make this all the time, using oyster sauce and all the other correct ingredients except for ginger (because I normally don't have it, and this is great with or without it), and it's awesome on all other vegetables I've tried too -- zucchini, asparagus and broccoli. Since those are vegetables okay to cook steamed or in boiling water, I just cook them in the sauce instead of separating sauce and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was delicious. The sauce would work well with broccoli. Definitely would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
If you really want to make this different try adding a mixture of one or several or all of these schezuan pepper flakes,schezuan peppers the numbing ones, ghost pepper powder and trinidad scorpion pepper powder this makes the bok choy so good. The original version is very nice also though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
YUM! I have to admit that I was out of sesame oil and used tahini instead, just added it with the sauce at the end. I also used less water so I didn't have to simmer the sauce for the three minutes so the veggies stay crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
My husband and I loved this sauce! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
nice, easy way to cook bok choy. Next time, just add the sauce ingredients right with the bok choy minues the water, or with cornstarch to thicken if you keep the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Pretty tasty. I found that 1 head of bok choy to be equivalent of 2 adult servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This is wonderful. I followed some reviewers suggestion about the sweetness if using both brown sugar and oyster sauce and omitted the oyster sauce. I added some julliened carrots and water chestnuts and 1 tbs. rice vinegar to balance it out. Remember oriental cooks like to have sweet, hot, sour and salty flavors in the same dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Easy, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
simple to do and delicious results !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States