Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
okay, i made this recipe the first time just as the directions mentioned. it was wonderful and everyone really enjoyed it. last night, i added shitake mushrooms and onions. delicious! i will add this one to my book. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and it was truly outstanding! I didn't have enough bok choy but I still made a full recipe of the sauce so it was pretty "saucy". I just let the bok choy sit in the sauce for a minute or two and then removed it to a separate serving dish. Outstanding! I didn't even think I liked bok choy before this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Very good. Added toasted almonds, halved button mushrooms and carrot medallions to imitate my favourite local Chinese place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Thanks to Fishyon for pointing out the error in my recipe. In step 3, I forgot to say what to do with the other half of the oil. Step 3 should read: Heat half of the oil in a large skillet or wok over medium-high heat. Add the bok choy stems first; stir fry for a few minutes or until the pieces start to turn a pale green. When stems are almost cooked, add the remaining oil and the leaves; cook and stir until leaves are wilted, 1 to 2 minutes. Remove from the heat and transfer the bok choy to a serving dish. Pour the sauce into the skillet or wok, and set over medium-high heat. Cook, stirring constantly, until sauce has thickened slightly, about 3 minutes. Pour over the bok choy and toss lightly to coat. Once the recipe is published, Allrecipes will not make changes to it. They suggested that I post a comment here which seems odd since I have to include a rating. Naturally, it gets five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Photo by thamesarino
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
The first time I made this I used the recipe to a T... it was so very yummy that the next time I added a bunch of fresh from the farmer's market produce...and it was also delicious and even more beautiful!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thamesarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Delicious bok choy. This does make a lot of sauce, probably more than you need. I used 3 heads of baby bok choy and had plenty of sauce left over, so I threw a pork chop in it overnight and pan-fried it the next day. Absolutely delicious, and a great use of the leftover sauce as a marinade. I will try this with brocolli later today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Nice flovour that didn't over power the bok choy. As suggested I severed it over rice noodles. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for. I cut the oil in half though.... Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This recipe was AWESOME! We had some veggie-hatin' friends over the other night, and had never made bok choy before. Everyone loved it...even our carnivore friends had seconds! Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCJANGULO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I am so happy to find a great recipe for bok choy. We have moved to Japan and bok choy is very available here. So I need some great recipes. Nice flavor with the seasonings. But what are we suppose to do with the other half of the oil?? I put mine in the seasoning and poured over the top of the veggies. Enjoy! We did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States