Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
okay, i made this recipe the first time just as the directions mentioned. it was wonderful and everyone really enjoyed it. last night, i added shitake mushrooms and onions. delicious! i will add this one to my book. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and it was truly outstanding! I didn't have enough bok choy but I still made a full recipe of the sauce so it was pretty "saucy". I just let the bok choy sit in the sauce for a minute or two and then removed it to a separate serving dish. Outstanding! I didn't even think I liked bok choy before this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Very good. Added toasted almonds, halved button mushrooms and carrot medallions to imitate my favourite local Chinese place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Thanks to Fishyon for pointing out the error in my recipe. In step 3, I forgot to say what to do with the other half of the oil. Step 3 should read: Heat half of the oil in a large skillet or wok over medium-high heat. Add the bok choy stems first; stir fry for a few minutes or until the pieces start to turn a pale green. When stems are almost cooked, add the remaining oil and the leaves; cook and stir until leaves are wilted, 1 to 2 minutes. Remove from the heat and transfer the bok choy to a serving dish. Pour the sauce into the skillet or wok, and set over medium-high heat. Cook, stirring constantly, until sauce has thickened slightly, about 3 minutes. Pour over the bok choy and toss lightly to coat. Once the recipe is published, Allrecipes will not make changes to it. They suggested that I post a comment here which seems odd since I have to include a rating. Naturally, it gets five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I am so happy to find a great recipe for bok choy. We have moved to Japan and bok choy is very available here. So I need some great recipes. Nice flavor with the seasonings. But what are we suppose to do with the other half of the oil?? I put mine in the seasoning and poured over the top of the veggies. Enjoy! We did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by thamesarino
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
The first time I made this I used the recipe to a T... it was so very yummy that the next time I added a bunch of fresh from the farmer's market produce...and it was also delicious and even more beautiful!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thamesarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This recipe was AWESOME! We had some veggie-hatin' friends over the other night, and had never made bok choy before. Everyone loved it...even our carnivore friends had seconds! Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCJANGULO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Nice flovour that didn't over power the bok choy. As suggested I severed it over rice noodles. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for. I cut the oil in half though.... Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Delicious bok choy. This does make a lot of sauce, probably more than you need. I used 3 heads of baby bok choy and had plenty of sauce left over, so I threw a pork chop in it overnight and pan-fried it the next day. Absolutely delicious, and a great use of the leftover sauce as a marinade. I will try this with brocolli later today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States