Spicy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I remembered (too late) the reason that tomatoes should be added at the END of the cooking: dried beans don't get soft if acid (vinegar, tomatoes, etc.) are added before the beans are soft. I thought it was odd, but followed the recipe almost exactly (no ham was wasted, at least) because of all the good reviews. When I re-read the reviews I noticed a lot of the reviewers mentioned using canned beans, and maybe others used them, also. So, important tips: Canned Beans - Use less water (go by looks, you can add more later if you need it) and a lot less salt. No need to cook 2 hours. Carrots - I followed the recipe and I thought the grated carrots looked very unappetizing in the cooked soup. Chopped work much better. Dried beans - Either soak the beans overnight, or quick soak (boil 10 minutes, then let sit covered for and hour). DO NOT ADD TOMATOES until the beans are soft. TOO LATE? If you've already been cooking the recipe as written for 2 to 3 hours when you read this, and still can't stomach the firm beans, you can put the beans in a blender if you didn't add the ham. I used some of the blended beans to make the Black Bean Vegetable Soup from the site. If I hadn't had those additional ingredients I would have had to order pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This soup was so good that my picky three-year-old slurped the broth, and the hubs called it my "cure-all" tonic because it wiped away his stomachache. I used three cans of black beans (and no extra salt) instead of dried; no bay leaf (didn't have any); 4 pressed garlic cloves instead of minced garlic and garlic powder. I also used 3 crumbled slices of bacon in place of the enormous amount of ham because we were in the mood for a more veggie-oriented soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Ross O'Neal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
All I can say is YUMMY! Made this soup for dinner last night and my whole family enjoyed it. I followed some of the other reviewers recommendation of adding a neckbone or ham hock to the soup and cutting back on the salt content. I omitted the salt and increased the celery salt from 1 teaspoon to 2 teaspoon. I also added more cayenne pepper to add some spice. I must say all of the ingredients for this soup was easy to find and I had the majority of it on hand. I will definitely make this soup again. The flavor is GREAT and so easy to fix! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Yummy on a cold night! Hubby thought it a little salty and said he'd at least cut salt in half next time. Served with a little sour cream & shredded cheese on top. Will definitely make again. Already planning it for when we have leftover pork loin and will use in place of ham! Thanks - good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Myers Heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was pretty good. Nice & spicy. Although I did make a few changes. The biggest was to omit the ham as I wanted a non-meat version. My mistake there was that I should have use 8 cups of water/broth instead of 10. And instead of diced tomatoes I used about 2 cups of salsa which I didn't add until about 2.5 hours later when the beans were cooked through (since the acid in tomatoes doesn't let beans cook through). Then I blended a little bit of the soup with an immersion blender just to make it a little smoother. Can't wait to have it for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I followed this recipe (I usually use a recipe as a guide) and it was very salty. I wish I had read the review first that said to cut the salt in half, as I think that would have made it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Francis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
YUM!!!! This is delicious w/ just the right amt of "spice." I had previously cooked the black beans, so used 8 C water vs the 10 C called for. Also, since I was busy, I put all ingred. in the crockpot & let it simmer away on low. I typically blend 1/2 of my soup(s) w/ an infusion blender to thicken, but I would NOT recommend that w/ this recipe b/c you'll get a grainy texture (I tried it). Also, I might suggest one remember that black beans are firm & need alot of soak/simmer time. I soaked mine overnight & also simmered for several hours b/c I like them on softer side. THANX Angchick. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Wonderful, hearty soup! I cooked my Christmas hambone in some water and 2 cans of chicken broth and then pulled the meat off and added the remainder of the ingredients (used canned beans). I also put in a couple of chipotle chilies - WOW! Really heated that broth up. I ended up adding almost a full can of tomato juice and threw in some cooked white rice to cut down the fire. Still had great flavor and warmed us up on a cold, rainy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Wow, this is good soup! I crumbled 5 strips of bacon instead of all that ham. I also added a 1/2 tsp of cumin and omitted the celery. This is a fabulous, flavorful soup! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
VERY GOOD:) I didnt have ground mustard so i used creole mustard i had in the fridge. Also I use my hand mixer and blended it all to make it thicker. Added sour cream to serve. YUM:) Only use 9 cups of water and 1 tsp of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States