Spicy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This soup was so good that my picky three-year-old slurped the broth, and the hubs called it my "cure-all" tonic because it wiped away his stomachache. I used three cans of black beans (and no extra salt) instead of dried; no bay leaf (didn't have any); 4 pressed garlic cloves instead of minced garlic and garlic powder. I also used 3 crumbled slices of bacon in place of the enormous amount of ham because we were in the mood for a more veggie-oriented soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Ross O'Neal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I didn't feel it was that spicy. I doubled the garlic. I did like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Very good, full of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Yummy on a cold night! Hubby thought it a little salty and said he'd at least cut salt in half next time. Served with a little sour cream & shredded cheese on top. Will definitely make again. Already planning it for when we have leftover pork loin and will use in place of ham! Thanks - good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Myers Heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
while this wasn't what i would call spicy, it was very flavorful and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Family raved. Husband brought some to work for lunch. The aroma drew many requests to taste, and many requests to bring more. Three days running, he finally wants something else for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This soup is absolutely delicious and it couldn't be any easier. I followed the recipe almost exactly except I used fresh parsley and I added about a half a cup of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Awesome flavor! I chopped the carrot's instead of shredding, and used a four blend peppercorn grind as I am out of Cayenne. Garnished soup with shredded cheddar and sour cream. A big hit with my family! Tomorrow we'll have the thickened leftovers in tortilla wraps. Thanks for a great soup recipe Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
I really liked this soup. I made a few changes though...I cut the carrots instead of shredding them, and used canned black beans. I must have put a lot of pepper in there because it was really spicy! I only boiled it for 45 minutes or so...I find I never have 2 hours to cook dinner...and it was still good! Cant wait to try it again tonight because I am sure the flavors are even better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Spicy?I wouldn't quite call it that... Delicious and easy yes! i had it with tortilla chips and monterey jack cheese. My four year old didnt call it dirty... she cleaned the bowl... If you are expecting spicy however add more pepper.. Otherwise good recipe.. lose a star for making me think it would be spicy....Kudos for not needing to soak the beans overnight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States