Spicy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Delicious! I added more spices than called for (may just be that mine are old) and used bacon instead of ham and no celery (no celery or ham in Albania) and used extra garlic instead of adding so much garlic salt. I also took Karen's advice into account and cooked everything but the bouillon, salt, and tomatoes until the beans were just about cooked through and then added them. I put some yogurt on top when serving it to help with the heat (I made mine pretty spicy). Great winter meal and super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Lovely, deep flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
A really good black bean soup recipe that my whole family enjoyed. I pureed all the ingredients together but left half of the beans whole. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This soup was INSANE. SO good...I can't say enough good about it! I was out of dry beans so I ended up using two cans of black beans and two cans of black eyed peas in it. AWESOME. I also used andouille sausage instead of just regular ham...the subtle heat this added was out of this world. I HIGHLY recommend getting your hands on some good andouille for this recipe. My two year old and three year old gobbled it right up (but they eat a lot of spicy food) and my husband couldn't stop talking about it and he is normally way "souped out" by this time of the year. OH! Also, I added about a third cup of rice...which was very good and left out the carrots. Also I sauteed the onions, celery, garlic, etc in the bottom of the pan in butter before adding the rest of the stuff. This soup was unbelievable. Seriously, make it. NOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchengal

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Great recipe! May be too salty for some, but all and all a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
great taste and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
this is an excellent black bean soup recipe! At first glance you might think it has too much garlic, but don't skimp---it adds a nice mellow flavor. this is seasoned very well--just a bit different from your average black bean soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was pretty good. Nice & spicy. Although I did make a few changes. The biggest was to omit the ham as I wanted a non-meat version. My mistake there was that I should have use 8 cups of water/broth instead of 10. And instead of diced tomatoes I used about 2 cups of salsa which I didn't add until about 2.5 hours later when the beans were cooked through (since the acid in tomatoes doesn't let beans cook through). Then I blended a little bit of the soup with an immersion blender just to make it a little smoother. Can't wait to have it for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Everyone in our family loved this recipe (including my kids who were eating it for the first time)! Stuck close to the recipe as written. Reduced salt a little, no celery salt (as I had none) and added a little shake of cumin. Topped with shredded cheese (a little cilantro for myself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Didn't have time to do the long cooking version so I made the following changes. 2 cans black beans, added browned 1/2 lb. ground Italian sausage instead of pork, omitted celery salt and garlic powder...used more fresh garlic, used Coleman's mustard instead of dried...all the herbs make this very flavorful. Also served with shredded aged cheddar, sour cream and chopped shallots. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States