Spicy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Wonderful, hearty soup! I cooked my Christmas hambone in some water and 2 cans of chicken broth and then pulled the meat off and added the remainder of the ingredients (used canned beans). I also put in a couple of chipotle chilies - WOW! Really heated that broth up. I ended up adding almost a full can of tomato juice and threw in some cooked white rice to cut down the fire. Still had great flavor and warmed us up on a cold, rainy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I made this yesterday and it got mixed reviews. I think I must not be a big fan of black beans but my hubby is and he really loved it. My 4 yr old son wouldn't have any part of it and my 6 yr old daughter took a taste and called it "dirty". I must admit I had a hard time getting past the unappetizing way it looks. The flavor tho is really good and the leftovers will probably taste even better. I only put half the ham it called for, omitted the salt and put only half the celery salt. To suit myself better since I really didn't care for the black beans, I will try the same recipe only substitute pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Maybe I undercooked the beans. Maybe it was too spicy. I don't know. My wife, who loves spicy food said it was good. However, it stayed in the freezer forever; neither she nor I apparently were enthused enough about the soup the defrost the pint containers we use. Thus, six months after making it, I must say, "Ho-hum" and give it two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
Very delicious! I simmered two hamhocks in the water the night before and skimmed off the fat the next morning. Other than eliminating the tomatos, I followed the recipe adding only a little sherry at the end. I also used my "Thunder Stick" to puree the beans and then let the soup simmer (without the lid) for about another hour to thicken up. We topped the soup with scallions, avacado, jalapeno peppers and shredded jack cheese. Thanks Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This soup is very good and very bold in flavor. Even more awesome the next day. I may try using diced tomatoes with green chiles next time for even more spice. Thanks Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
My husband LOVED this soup! It gets better the day after preparation when the flavors have a chance to blend. This is a fantastic winter soup that I make at the beginning of the week and keep around for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2000
i loved this great recipe. The flavor was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2000
This soup is full of bold flavor. You'd think it was made in a restaraunt. An excellent recipe that my wife and children loved. I couldn't recomend it more! I used a hambone instead for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-78 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States