Spicy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Wow, this was delicious. I have made it an all time favorite. I made and froze some for lunches and suppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallassee, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
One of the easiest and most flavorful black bean soup recipes ever. Did a couple slight changes: Sweated the onion, celery, carrots and garlic in a splash of olive oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. After the soup cooled a bit, I used a stick blender briefly to puree it a little to make a creamier base. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I made this recipe today and my husband and I loved it. However, I reduced the salt by more than 1/2 so that is why I only gave 4 instead of 5 stars. I modified the recipe, based on most other reviewers comments and my own personal tastes. I only used one chicken bouillon cube, I reduced salt to 1/4 tsp., I used 1/4 tsp of celery seed instead of 1 tsp celery salt. I do not like Bay leaves so I omitted them. I also added ham and 1/2c chopped chiorizo sausage. Because of the spicy sausage and the fact that we like a little bit of heat, and not a lot, I only used 1/8 tsp of cayenne. I soaked the beans in water for 6 hours before using them also. I think this is a wonderful recipe, even though I made those minor changes, I was really impressed with the aroma and complex flavors of this soup. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
The reason I gave this recipe 4 out of 5 stars is that the instructions did not tell the reader about the overnight or quick method soaking of the black beans prior to cooking. Otherwise, with that said it was wonderful. I made a few changes using chipotle boullion cubes in lieu of chicken, 8 cups of water instead of 10, and replacing table salt with kosher and only using 1 tsp. I also diced the carrots instead of shredding and added fresh homegrown cayenne pepper. This recipe does make a lot so I froze the leftovers for another evening when I do not have time to cook. One final thought, I recently spoke with a nutritionist who told me that the darker the bean the higher anti oxidants.....so eat lots of black beans :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Green Goddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
OK......so this is my first time with bean soup. I knew I loved it but I had to make it for a sick relative as well as feeding my family. And --- all I had was one can of black beans and one can of kidney beans!!! This is the best recipe I've made from this site and I've made a lot! I used( these are my changes) 6 cups chicken broth, 3/4 cup bacon bits (all I had) and one can of diced tomatos with 1/2 cup fresh diced. This is a great recipe and I served with cheddar bay biscuits from AR and a lovely green salad. Enjoy and thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Made this for my husband who is a big Black Bean Soup fan. Did not change a thing about the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
YUM!!!! This is delicious w/ just the right amt of "spice." I had previously cooked the black beans, so used 8 C water vs the 10 C called for. Also, since I was busy, I put all ingred. in the crockpot & let it simmer away on low. I typically blend 1/2 of my soup(s) w/ an infusion blender to thicken, but I would NOT recommend that w/ this recipe b/c you'll get a grainy texture (I tried it). Also, I might suggest one remember that black beans are firm & need alot of soak/simmer time. I soaked mine overnight & also simmered for several hours b/c I like them on softer side. THANX Angchick. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was awesome my husband and I loved it! I made it for dinner last night to go with a Spanish tortilla. I did have to make a few changes I used canned black beans and I didn't have any ham so I used smoked sausage. Instead of canned diced tomatoes I used some tomatoe sauce. I also pureed half the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIS_2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very Good and very easy. I pureed the soup after it was done cooking. I put it into a glass blender and slowly and carefully pureed the hot liquid. It was scrumptious! Plus a dollop of sour cream on the top was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
My husband and I crave this soup now! It was GREAT. A wonderful way to use the leftover ham bone and ham. Easy to adjust to your taste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States