Spicy Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I used organic black beans and organic canned corn that I rinsed and drained really well before using in this recipe. I cut way back on the cilantro because I had homemade salsa that already had a whole bunch in it. Instead of lemon juice, I used fresh lime juice. Other than that, I kept every thing else the same. This is FABULOUS. I literally could not stop eating it. My oldest son and husband also really liked it, too though my husband did say that he would enjoy this more if he could scoop it up with tortilla chips! Very VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Delicious! I added 1/2 cup feta cheese just because I had some on hand... it tastes grea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I like to brown cumin in a skillet first and use fresh cooked or freezer corn. This dish is amazing w/ a chip, on fish, tacos, chicken or just by itself! Thank you for your share I lost my original recipe which was very similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
this is fantastic with shrimp added and served over a bed of lettuce and a squeeze of lime juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I liked this recipe but did make a few changes. I decreased olive oil to about 3 tablespoons vs 1/2 cup and used juice of 1 lime vs the lemon. I also added a diced a red pepper, a hot pepper and a hint of sugar. I think once it is chilled it will taste even better! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Way too much olive oil. I used only half the amount. Otherwise great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Finksburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Made this for Father's Day. Put it together in a matter of minutes--made the recipe exactly as posted. I let it sit all night in the frig because my experience is that most cold bean salads are best after 24 hours. I used fresh salsa that I purchased in the produce section at the supermarket, not the bottled type sold by the tortilla chips. This one is definitely a keeper; it is delicious. It's spicy but not too spicy, a little bit crunchy because of the red onion, has lovely color and texture, and makes a great side to barbecue. I will definitely make this recipe many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
The spicy black bean salad was a great success. I used the the not salsa and gave it a real spicy taste. It is a good side dish to add to your menu especially when you have guest who are vegetarian or vegan. It is a good summer salad and not difficult to make. It will be used again this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
excellent. I added bell pepper and I couldn't stop eating it. Best if chilled for 4-5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
At Norma's, 50 oz bn, bag of Cn, half oil, added cayenne, used dried garlic, chi chi med salsa 3/4 jar, more cumin, vin. Chopped on and cil together, no tears
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States