Spicy Black Bean Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Super tasty! We used phyllo dough to make the wrapping easier and so the empanadas weren't overwhelmed by the breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
These empanadas were so flavorful and delicious! After reading some reviews regarding the puff pastry, I used seamless Pillsbury dough sheets and turned out extremely well. I also added some Tobasco sauce for some more spice! I made some without pork and those were delicious as well! Besides a few tweaks to my own liking, this recipe was very delicious and surprisingly easy. The prep time was long, but it was not complicated at all. If you have the time, I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I followed the recipe amount and it made 4 large square empanadas by cutting each sheet into 2 rectangles. I filled each with about a 1/2 cup of the bean mixture. Made a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
It was ok. I've had better empanadas. I think I'm just not THAT into black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denisse Takes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I used lean steak cut into cubes instead of ground pork and it was delicious. Omitted the red pepper for less spice, but still very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess2881

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Delicious! Used turkey instead of pork and made a few with guacamole inside. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samsonitefrite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Only used one package of Puff Pastry and cut into 8 squares. Accidentally put the entire can of black beans in. Used ground chicken. And they STILL turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These were a major hit at a family gathering! Next time I make them I will add more tomatoe sause and more cheese as they were a bit dry. I also used the Empanada Dough recipe and followed the sugestions to add more water and shortening. Serve hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Super yummy, the kids loved them, and they're portable. I use a homemade crust though, not as easy but no chemicals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made these as part of a Halloween feast that was zombie themed. (they were made into "intestines", gross!) But despite their intentional gross appearance, they were a delicious hit that didn't last long! I've made them several times since then in a more conventional shape ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Smokey Sausage Cups

See how to make sausage in bite-size Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry cups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States