Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I loved these. Really good with the sour cream. I got half fat sour cream and it tasted perfectly fine, I didn't miss the extra fat! I made a side of quinoa cooked in chicken broth to go with these cakes. To make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This recipe is awesome! Even my non-veggie friends liked it. The prep is a bit time consuming (esp. grating the sweet potato) but its worth it. The lime sour cream is a great touch goes perfectly with the black bean cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This was excellent! We loved it!... I added fresh cilantro on top of each cake and only used one jap pepper beacuse that was all I had. The lime sauce with the sweet potato makes for an interestingly fabulous taste and it is healthy to boot. Thank you,we now have a new dinner staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. I made the cakes very small and got about 10 using half recipe. I plan to make even smaller ones to take to my office holiday party. I also used regular (fat) sour cream for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
It was VERY great. My husband I enjoyed it sooooo much! Flavor, texture and everything was perfect. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
this recipe was so easy and i must say sooooo tasty. the sour cream jalapeno lime sauce is the key. i made it last nite and was so good my wife insisted i make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
YUMMY! I added a considerable amount of cayenne pepper and some oregano to spice it up based on previous reviews. My husband and I like spicy. I would probably leave it as is (or close to it) if cooking for guests. Also, I fried them using a bit of olive oil because I don't have a broiling pan. The result was slightly crispy on the outside and softer on the inside. Other than that I left everything the same and it was delicious and beautiful! Served with the equally tasty lime sour cream sauce dolloped on top with a side of rice. I thought the garlic sounded excessive but even with the six cloves it was far from being a predominant flavor. It all blends together quite well. This was a very satisfying vegetarian meal and will be served over and over again in this house. What a great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
FANTASTIC!!! I made this last night for my girlfriend and I. We both loved it. Not really spicy, so you may want to add a little something if thats what you really want, but wonderful flavor. My girlfriend's cousins (4 and 6) came over about the time we were finishing dinner and tried it and both liked it alot. Thought mashing the beans before adding the peppers would make for better conistancy, and though it "did" it actually made the patties taste not quite as good and not cook quite as evenly so I recommend following the directions for that part too :). I will DEFINATLY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Much better than I'd expected they'd be. Even my picky kids loved these. I used only 2 jalapenos total in order to make the flavor milder for the kids. Still, the dish was flavorful enough for my husband and me. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Juanita and I have ever so handily made these over 12 times now and received rave reviews at each serving. My compliment to the recipe creator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States