Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Overall good recipe with a few adjustments. I read all the reviews and combined thier advice. I halved the recipe and made smaller patties, 10 in all. I also added diced red pepper, cilantro, green chiles, and chili powder. To the sour cream sauce, I added red pepper and cilantro to give it a nice color. Also I found that searing the patties made them stay togther better. And don't forget to microwave the sweet potato as stated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Very, very good. Try these, they are worth it -- quick, good, and healthy. Don't skip the lime sour cream -- it goes great with the cakes. I microwaved the grated sweet potato for 1 minute before mixing in because I wasn't sure how well it cook in the broiler. Watch the time -- it did not take as long for me as it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is my all-time favorite meatless recipe. DO NOT pre-cook the yams; you don't want a mushy cake. DO brown very well (just don't burn them like I keep doing); the thinner you make them, the easier. It seems that the lack of flavor noted by others comes from UNDERCOOKING the patties. breadcrumbs, or gluten-free breadcrumbs. For a gluten-free version, I have used quinoa instead of **And here is how I ADORE the sour cream topping: leave out the jalapeno, add a generous sprinkling of salt and extra lime juice, as well as some of the lime ZEST! and garnish with, or mix in, chopped cilantro. No blandness here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
These were good, and I'll make them again. I shredded the sweet potato and made the sour cream topping the night before to save time. I followed the other suggestions and made these changes to the recipe: use 2 eggs in the bean mixture and also add to the basic recipe 1 can mild diced chilies, 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp coriander. I also used 1Tbsp jarred chopped jalapenos instead of fresh and it was really mild so I'll add more next time. I'll also add some cilantro next time. This recipe made 18 patties (golf ball size when I scooped them out) which I flattened. I had to move the oven rack to the middle because they burned otherwise, and then I baked them for 7 min on one side and 4 on the other. They were good, but needed more spice. Also, next time I'm going to make them much thinner/flatter and add more salt & pepper (I only used 1/4 tsp of each).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
WOW! These were amazing! I made these Friday night and by Saturday afternoon they were gone! My boyfriend and sister ate them all! I made a second batch Sunday and froze them so I could have them for my lunches. I also loved the sour cream mix, but my sister preferred salsa with it. I cooked them on the stove top, only because the second I turn on my broiler the fire alarm goes off :( I also followed others advice and used two eggs- they were perfectly moist! Aside from that I followed the recipe exactly. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrilledCheeseGrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I brought this to a very foodie (berkeley, CA) potluck party and it was the first dish gone. People loved it! I added about a 1/4c chopped red bell pepper and a small can of diced green chiles which i think was perfect. Also to the lime sour cream i added a bout a 1/2 tablespoon chopped cilantro and a couple tablespoons finely chopped red bell pepper for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XLOVE33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I didn't have sweet potatoes in the house and these were still very good. I added more seasonings including chili powder and used whole wheat flour in lieu of the bread crumbs. Made a really nice, healthy lunch Christina and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
These were a surprise hit; we loved them! The lime sour cream was the perfect accompaniment. I did not change anything and I did not precook the sweet potato and it did not need it. I will use these as an appetizer and as a main course. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Really tasty, healthy recipe. I did not pre-cook the sweet potatoes and they turned out fine. I made about 20 small patties and I think they turned out crispier and cooked better this way. They were enjoyed by vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike at a dinner party along with fish tacos. They're also good with melted, crispy cheese on top. I thought they made good leftovers, just warm in a pan the next day. You must make the cream for topping, it really adds to the taste! Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISARJENNINGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Used the recommendations of previous reviewers. Sauteed red bell pepper along with the onion and microwaved the sweet potato for a minute. Also added oregano, coriander, cayenne, and fresh cilanto to the bean cakes. Added fresh cilanto to the lime sour cream, too. I wish I had also added a small can of chiles as one reviewer had mentioned because, although the flavor was great, they were dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States