Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Very, very good. Try these, they are worth it -- quick, good, and healthy. Don't skip the lime sour cream -- it goes great with the cakes. I microwaved the grated sweet potato for 1 minute before mixing in because I wasn't sure how well it cook in the broiler. Watch the time -- it did not take as long for me as it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This recipe is awesome! Even my non-veggie friends liked it. The prep is a bit time consuming (esp. grating the sweet potato) but its worth it. The lime sour cream is a great touch goes perfectly with the black bean cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
This was disappointing. The lime sour cream was good, but the bean patties were dry and didn't have as much flavor as I expected. I followed the recipe exactly, but next time I would add a lot more cumin and garlic (believe it or not). Unfortunately, these don't make good leftovers either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I thought this recipe was very flavorful. I changed the breadcrumbs to diced low-carb green onion wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Really tasty, healthy recipe. I did not pre-cook the sweet potatoes and they turned out fine. I made about 20 small patties and I think they turned out crispier and cooked better this way. They were enjoyed by vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike at a dinner party along with fish tacos. They're also good with melted, crispy cheese on top. I thought they made good leftovers, just warm in a pan the next day. You must make the cream for topping, it really adds to the taste! Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISARJENNINGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
After the first 2 steps, i was very impressed with this recipe: the onions, garlic and cumin smelled and looked great... but something went wrong after that bc these patties came out very dry and their texture was, well, less than appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. I made the cakes very small and got about 10 using half recipe. I plan to make even smaller ones to take to my office holiday party. I also used regular (fat) sour cream for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
These came out dry and pasty. I followed the recipe exactly and expected them to brown during broiling, however they didn't. If I make these again, I would fry them in a skillet with a generous amount of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
These turned out way better than any black bean cakes I've ever made. Other recipes call for pan frying the cakes. They always end up sticking to the pan and falling apart. These did not stick (I used cooking spray instead of oil) and did not fall apart. I would have given this recipe five stars but the cakes did end up a little more bland than I would like, despite my adding about 1/4 t. of both chili powder and cumin. If you like spicy food, be gererous with your spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This was excellent! We loved it!... I added fresh cilantro on top of each cake and only used one jap pepper beacuse that was all I had. The lime sauce with the sweet potato makes for an interestingly fabulous taste and it is healthy to boot. Thank you,we now have a new dinner staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States