Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
These cakes are great! I cooked them for a vegetarian/organic cooking contest at work and took first place! I took the advice of previous reviews and added oregano, coriander, cayenne, and fresh cilantro to the bean cakes. I also made them golf ball size then flattened. I brushed the cakes in olive oil since they looked a little dry. The best part was letting them sit overnight to enhance the flavors! Heat them up in a microwave with a wet paper towel and a lid to lock in moisture. Don’t skip on the lime jalapeno sour cream sauce. I found this to be great and can’t wait to try it on the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Yet another Meatless Monday. These cakes are a tad on the "sweet" side. The recipe definitely needs something else to balance out the sweetness of the yam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
It had the makings of a perfect entree. Easy, Quick, and low fat. Even the kids ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These had a good flavor, needed more salt...they came out a bit dry not sure why....the sauce is a must very good...I will try these again but with some modifications
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very good! I used dry bean instead of canned and boiled the sweet potato before mashing it. Instead of the topping (don't like sour cream), I used some mashed avocado and put it in a half a pita. It was a very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
These were pretty tasty but lack a little texture. Made this recipe exactly as stated except I cooked them in a skillet with nonstick spray to get the sides a bit crispier. I think my salt and pepper "to taste" was a bit off since I had to season with both after the cakes were cooked. I would guesstimate 3 tsp of each are needed. Next time I will try replacing the bread crumbs with oats or brown rice to give them some chewiness (otherwise kind of mush).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was very good. Next time I will chop up some more onions, garlic and jalapenos. I also think I would like them pan fried in some oil instead of under the broiler. Thanks for sharing- my dd actually thought they had meat in them:) Make the lime sour cream sauce makes them good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by Stef~W~an~F
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
These were GREAT! The sour cream sauce really made the dish...dont skip it. I didnt have any jalapeno peppers so I used hot red chillis and it turned out beautifully. I will make these again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef~W~an~F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by ChereenH
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
These are excellent! I did add a bit of lite Bleu Cheese crumbles to the "bean batter". I tried pan frying these in a small amount of olive oil, seemed to give a bit more crunch to the outside of the cakes, though they are delicious broiled too! The Lime Sour Cream is YUMMY and I added finely chopped cilantro to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChereenH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
my oven must run a little hotter than most because after 5 minutes they were nearly on fire. Despite this, they turned out great. I added chopped cilantro to the sour cream which turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States