Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I thought it was very good, I've made it a couple times and it's taken a little bit of time to get consistencies right when they cook but I'd recommend this. I took out the jalapeno and added about a tablespoon of Djon Mustard and some extra cumin and chili powder and it came out very well with just enough kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
These came out slightly crisp on the outside and mushy on the inside. They didn't hold together very well. They weren't cake like at all. It was as if I had put scoops of frijoles on a baking sheet and broiled them. These need something to give them more structure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
These were a hit at a recent party. I made small appetizer size patties and they didn't want to stay together and it seemed like I had to bake them a lot longer than the recipe says, but the taste was great. The lime sour cream was a perfect compliment to the cakes. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Quite nice. Approved by daughter and husband. Easy to make and could make any number of variations. I made it as written, with only a couple of changes. I used greek yogurt instead of sour cream and put about 1T of cilantro in the cake. Served with lime cilantro rice and corn on the cob. Would love to try it with shredded sharp cheese in the burger. Will try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I made a half batch and turned it into 3in round thin cakes(12) because I wanted them more of a crisp texture than I've had before. The sample cake was bland and the sauce dominates. I'm rating together(since that is the recipe). I ended up adding some coriander, chipotle chili powder and diced red pepper to give the cakes more flavor which I thought helped but the sour cream still dominates the flavor. I brushed on a little olive oil,grilled them rather than broil and it took about 20 minutes. Even though it's very good, I think I would prefer a little different sauce for these cakes so you can taste their subtle flavor, maybe a mild chipotle sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
amazing! love the special sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New London, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These are really, really delicious. I use 2 lbs. of dry black beans (soaked overnight and simmered 1 hour = aprox. 12 cups of beans) and two large sweet potatoes and roughly quadruple the other ingredients. I end up with around 70 patties, pig out, and then freeze the remainder for future quick meals. The sauce is especially good made with fresh cilantro, extra lime, and Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream. So good! Thank you! P.S.- I don't find it necessary to precook the sweet potato, I just broil them on the middle rack for the suggested amount of time and they come out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boiling Springs, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
very much like another spicy black bean burger we like - added red pepper and diced green chilis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
These were okay... nothing special though. I won't be making them again. However, The jalapeno-lime sour cream was good and I'll use that for future Mexican dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Used one can of kidney beans, one can of black bean. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States