Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Great recipe. I made the cakes as written except used serrano and anaheim chiles from my garden, the jalapenos aren't producing yet. :-) Also I had panko on hand so that was what went in there, it gave a great texture. The sour cream sauce I subbed serrano and lemon juice, limes aren't ripe yet. It didn't have enough something for me. Tried to kick it up with spices. I think I'd prefer an avocado sauce next time. Solid recipe. I liked the texture with the raw sweet potatoes and the mashed black beans (used a potato masher) and broiled. Sure, it would have been crispier if it had been fried but it was solid as is and healthier Husband says texture was awesome, he's a meat eater and says he wants me to make it again as a burger next time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
These cakes are great! I cooked them for a vegetarian/organic cooking contest at work and took first place! I took the advice of previous reviews and added oregano, coriander, cayenne, and fresh cilantro to the bean cakes. I also made them golf ball size then flattened. I brushed the cakes in olive oil since they looked a little dry. The best part was letting them sit overnight to enhance the flavors! Heat them up in a microwave with a wet paper towel and a lid to lock in moisture. Don’t skip on the lime jalapeno sour cream sauce. I found this to be great and can’t wait to try it on the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Yet another Meatless Monday. These cakes are a tad on the "sweet" side. The recipe definitely needs something else to balance out the sweetness of the yam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
It had the makings of a perfect entree. Easy, Quick, and low fat. Even the kids ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These had a good flavor, needed more salt...they came out a bit dry not sure why....the sauce is a must very good...I will try these again but with some modifications
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very good! I used dry bean instead of canned and boiled the sweet potato before mashing it. Instead of the topping (don't like sour cream), I used some mashed avocado and put it in a half a pita. It was a very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
These were pretty tasty but lack a little texture. Made this recipe exactly as stated except I cooked them in a skillet with nonstick spray to get the sides a bit crispier. I think my salt and pepper "to taste" was a bit off since I had to season with both after the cakes were cooked. I would guesstimate 3 tsp of each are needed. Next time I will try replacing the bread crumbs with oats or brown rice to give them some chewiness (otherwise kind of mush).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was very good. Next time I will chop up some more onions, garlic and jalapenos. I also think I would like them pan fried in some oil instead of under the broiler. Thanks for sharing- my dd actually thought they had meat in them:) Make the lime sour cream sauce makes them good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by Stef~W~an~F
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
These were GREAT! The sour cream sauce really made the dish...dont skip it. I didnt have any jalapeno peppers so I used hot red chillis and it turned out beautifully. I will make these again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef~W~an~F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by ChereenH
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
These are excellent! I did add a bit of lite Bleu Cheese crumbles to the "bean batter". I tried pan frying these in a small amount of olive oil, seemed to give a bit more crunch to the outside of the cakes, though they are delicious broiled too! The Lime Sour Cream is YUMMY and I added finely chopped cilantro to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChereenH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States