Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I didn't precook the sweet potato, and don't see how it would've helped. The texture was very nice. Agree with others that it's the lime sour cream that makes these stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This came out very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I loved these. I salute onions, garlic, red peppers then add to beans. makes a great black bean burger also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These are very good. To make these vegan omit the egg and use cashew cream or vegan mayo for the lime cream. As many reviewers recommended I cooked the sweet potato and mashed it before adding it. I added canned green chilies to the bean mixture to make up for the missing egg moisture. I cooked this in non stick pan instead of the broiler- It was just too hot to turn on the broiler. We will have these again. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
amazing and versatile recipe. You don't need to microwave your sweet potatoes, they cook up nicely in the oven. I recommend adding green pepper and cilantro to the sour cream. I also added half the green pepper to the cakes. I would recommend making this cakes flat because they will crisp up better while broiling. I'm a lacto-vegetarian and I don't eat eggs...I just added a bit more bread crumbs and they held together just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
These were great and very easy. We grilled the cakes for about the same amount of time and it worked really well. I also added a bit of salsa to the sour cream mix and liked the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Great recipe. I don't like sour cream so instead I used salsa. They really don't need any kind of dip or topping but it did add a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Great flavour and LOVE the sauce but they kept falling apart (and I made them app sized).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I sauteed some garlic, jalepeno peppers as suggested, then in one bowl, took a half of can of black beans, some garlic and seasonings, along with the egg, some flour and breadcrumbs, mixed it all together and made patties. Once made, I fried in canola oil. It was soo amazing. My mixture generated 3 burgers. One I ate and two I left for dinner and lunch for another day. Thanks for the great recipe. Oh i forgot i added the fat free sour cream but didn't add jalepenos. I was too fast for myself. These are sooo good. Since I didn't have the yam, i skipped adding that. Will try that on the next go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicago Cook Gurl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I have already made these twice! As others have said the lime sauce makes all the difference. This is full of flavor and would make a great starter for dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricrinapoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States