Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Wow. These are really good! The sour cream is great. Since I usually make a half batch, I just use a whole egg, and the patties stay together just fine. I also broiled them a little longer, as I wanted them very crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I too added another egg, and used panko instead of the bread crumbs. I used both the broil method, and I also baked another batch at 400. Next time I'll use the food processor to combine the jalapeno and sour cream for the dip so it's a bit smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I love this recipe. It is a new favorite of mine and my daughter. I added a little extra bread crumbs (about 1/4 cup) after I made my first test patty. It wasn't necessary. The test patty was delicious. I just wanted to make the finished patties a little more firm. This probably would not have been needed at all, if I had drained the black beans a little more thoroughly, but I couldn't find my strainer. I also fried, instead of broiled the patties because my oven always sets off the smoke alarm. Funny, another reviewer said the same thing. Anyway, I fried the patties on medium heat with a little olive oil, they came out delicious. This recipe is definitely going to be a new staple in our house. The cooked patties store in the fridge and reheat great. I just take a patty out of the fridge, heat it in an ungreased pan and chow down. These are way better than store bought veggie burgers and if you make a bunch ahead of time, they are just as quick and convenient to make. Oh, and definitely make the sour cream sauce with the recipe. The sauce was yummy and a wonderfully perfect topper for this patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is fantastic! I added white cheddar cheese to them when they were done baking, and put back under the broiler for about 10 seconds! GREAT DISH!!!! Oh, and I did not cook sweet potatoes before mixing into dish, they were perfect just the way they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
this was great. changed only slightly. to the sour cream sauce i added lime zest, about half a chopped yellow bell pepper and red pepper flakes. to the bean patties i added a little chile powder and an extra egg. no need to cook the sweet potato. moved the rack down a bit so it was so cloes to the broiler and cooked about 8 minutes on each side. served with sliced avacado, a rice blend and steamed broccoli. DEEEE-lishous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Dry and not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
These make delicious black bean burgers! I've even made them without the egg to take to a potluck for a vegan co-worker. Didn't hold together quite as well, but good enough to keep their shape. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I thought this recipe was wonderful for those who need a healthy alternative! I have been eating healthy lately and this was a nice dish to cook for a small gathering. The leftovers will make for great lunches at work! The only difference I used was a can of kidney beans because I did not have 2 cans of black beans, just 1. It tasted great so I don't think the type of beans used makes much of a difference! Loved the special sour cream too. Overall there was a mild spicy heat coming from the cakes but even my cousin, who hates anything jalapeno, enjoyed these. Thank you for sharing a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
one word: AMAZING!!!!! i have made this recipe a couple times, and it is always wonderful. Once, a served it with a mango avocado salsa, which made it even better! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.A.P.S.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Amazing! I made this almost exactly as the recipe with a few minor adjustments - extra egg per suggestions, and added some different chili powders, along with some fresh cilantro. Absolutely amazing recipe and one that will go on my list for the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States