Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Really good. I also added red pepper to the bean mix and cilantro to the sauce. Served on a bed of arugula and baby spinich and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Collaroy, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great recipe! I added a can of corn and it was simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Love these! Modifications from others that are essential: microwave the shredded sweet potato first, two eggs, red bell pepper, chili powder, and definitely smaller cakes. I also used an immersion blender to get the whole mixture more broken down. And most importantly, I was able to make good flat cakes that hold together with one simple trick: put them on the baking tray as balls, not flattened at all. Then, before you flip them to brown the other side, just use the spatula to smooth the ball down into a patty and flip. They are much more able to hold together as a patty when they are mostly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Excellent! I also added chili powder for extra flavor and still used tobasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 932ninja

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
These were just okay. Won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMcFadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I substituted green chiles for jalapeños and made them in a skillet as you would for latkes. Delicious! Thank you for this wonderful and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Overall, good recipe, I followed the recipe excatly except as I always do substituted the bread crumbs for oatmeal to make it healthier. Great meatless meal choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This was a good jumping off point with a couple of modifications after reading some of the reviews. It sounded like it needed a little more flavor oomph, so I did 1.5x the spices and added some cayenne because the serrano chilis I used were the wimpiest ones I've ever tasted! I also added some cilantro because we love it. I didn't bother to sautee the chilis or onions and garlic and they were just fine in the finished cake. I also subbed some oatmeal for the bread crumbs for extra fiber. I do think next time I would microwave the grated sweet potatoes to avoid the slight starchy flavor. That could be due to the grater size - the large Cuisinart blade.I doubled the recipe to have leftovers to freeze and so used 3 eggs, but next time I think I would use 4 to hold things together a little better. I used the non-stick electric griddle and "fried" them with just a hint of olive oil to brown them. (Our broiler sets off the fire alarm even with no smoke!) But this was a great option for a vegetarian meal and it was really satisfying! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twila Davis Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I thought it was very good, I've made it a couple times and it's taken a little bit of time to get consistencies right when they cook but I'd recommend this. I took out the jalapeno and added about a tablespoon of Djon Mustard and some extra cumin and chili powder and it came out very well with just enough kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States