Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Delicious!!!I altered the recipe a little by taking away the jalapeno, as I am very sensitive to spicey food, anyway the cakes were delicious, I did add an extra egg, which made it very moist. This is a keeper and the teens loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
These were absolutely amazing. We like spice, but I felt 2 jalepenos were fine - and I was happy I made that choice. Didn't have a problem with the uncooked sweet potato. This got my take-out happy fiance to eat and enjoy something healthy - this will become a week night staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Love this recipe! I always double or triple the recipe because they refrigerate and/or freeze wonderfully. I did add additional spices (coriander, chile powder, cilantro) to give it more kick. One time I only had one can of black beans so substituted with a can of pinto beans and the result was great. There was no real difference in the final taste. I soften the grated sweet potatoes in the microwave as others suggested & also softened the black beans to make mashing easier. And, used two eggs as others suggested. Because I like my green onions fresh and crispy, I added those to the lime sour cream with a little fresh cilantro and used sweet onions in the cakes. I baked mine at 425 degrees for time indicated instead of broiling. I prefer a moister patty. Wonderful recipe.....LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cripple Creek, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I held back on the heat with these since I didn't know how spicy my guests liked their food, but they were still delicious. Next time I will crank up the jalapeno and cumin. the sweet potato adds a faint sweetness that gives a nice balance with the spice. And the lime sour cream really is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I didn't have any jalapenos so I used chipotles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
noone liked it but me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Too spicy for our 4 year old, but my husband and I loved this recipe! I followed it as written and the cakes turned out moist and flavorful. We didn't have any trouble at all with the sweet potato being hard/undercooked. The 1 egg seemed to bind the mixture well enough. The sour cream mixture was superb with the cakes--definitely try it as well. Excellent new recipe that will made it to the dinner table regularly from now on. Thanks! **Note: I used 2 semi-large sweet potatoes (grated them in a food processor) and they yielded 6 cups. I froze the extra two 2c measurements and hope they will use well next time I make the cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
awesome made according to recipe.wouldnt change a thing i did had a slice of Harvatti cheese melted on top..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
solid recipe, I cut back on the jalapeno since my family doesn't like too much heat. still enough kick. will make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Great recipe! Because I am a vegan I omitted the egg and added an egg substitute. Didn't take away from the flavor at or consistency at all! I also added some diced cilantro to the cakes as well at the sauce... I find cilantro adds a great compliment to any Spanish inspired dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States