Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
this recipe was so easy and i must say sooooo tasty. the sour cream jalapeno lime sauce is the key. i made it last nite and was so good my wife insisted i make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Very interesting. I don't usually like sour cream dips, but decided to make it anyway since other reviewers insisted that it was "key" to the dish. I made the cakes smaller than suggested and still had to broil them longer than the recipe stated; but it all turned out well in the end. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
It was VERY great. My husband I enjoyed it sooooo much! Flavor, texture and everything was perfect. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
My family really liked these served with rice and salsa. I had a 19 oz. can of black beans so adjusted the other ingredients accordingly, although I still used 1 whole egg. The broiler wasn't working so I cooked these on an oiled, non-stick electric griddle. The recipe, even though I reduced it, yielded 8 good size cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I really enjoyed these. Like others, I made the cakes smaller and got about 12 instead of 8. My husband really enjoyed them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This was excellent! We loved it!... I added fresh cilantro on top of each cake and only used one jap pepper beacuse that was all I had. The lime sauce with the sweet potato makes for an interestingly fabulous taste and it is healthy to boot. Thank you,we now have a new dinner staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
These turned out way better than any black bean cakes I've ever made. Other recipes call for pan frying the cakes. They always end up sticking to the pan and falling apart. These did not stick (I used cooking spray instead of oil) and did not fall apart. I would have given this recipe five stars but the cakes did end up a little more bland than I would like, despite my adding about 1/4 t. of both chili powder and cumin. If you like spicy food, be gererous with your spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
These came out dry and pasty. I followed the recipe exactly and expected them to brown during broiling, however they didn't. If I make these again, I would fry them in a skillet with a generous amount of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. I made the cakes very small and got about 10 using half recipe. I plan to make even smaller ones to take to my office holiday party. I also used regular (fat) sour cream for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
After the first 2 steps, i was very impressed with this recipe: the onions, garlic and cumin smelled and looked great... but something went wrong after that bc these patties came out very dry and their texture was, well, less than appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States