Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
They tasted good but they were a little dry. Maybe because I used cooked dried beans instead of canned. I would probably try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I loved these. Really good with the sour cream. I got half fat sour cream and it tasted perfectly fine, I didn't miss the extra fat! I made a side of quinoa cooked in chicken broth to go with these cakes. To make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Much better than I'd expected they'd be. Even my picky kids loved these. I used only 2 jalapenos total in order to make the flavor milder for the kids. Still, the dish was flavorful enough for my husband and me. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
FANTASTIC!!! I made this last night for my girlfriend and I. We both loved it. Not really spicy, so you may want to add a little something if thats what you really want, but wonderful flavor. My girlfriend's cousins (4 and 6) came over about the time we were finishing dinner and tried it and both liked it alot. Thought mashing the beans before adding the peppers would make for better conistancy, and though it "did" it actually made the patties taste not quite as good and not cook quite as evenly so I recommend following the directions for that part too :). I will DEFINATLY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
YUMMY! I added a considerable amount of cayenne pepper and some oregano to spice it up based on previous reviews. My husband and I like spicy. I would probably leave it as is (or close to it) if cooking for guests. Also, I fried them using a bit of olive oil because I don't have a broiling pan. The result was slightly crispy on the outside and softer on the inside. Other than that I left everything the same and it was delicious and beautiful! Served with the equally tasty lime sour cream sauce dolloped on top with a side of rice. I thought the garlic sounded excessive but even with the six cloves it was far from being a predominant flavor. It all blends together quite well. This was a very satisfying vegetarian meal and will be served over and over again in this house. What a great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I was disappointed with the texture, expected them to be crispy/crunchy and instead the bean cakes were mushy. The flavor was good- my husband and 2.5 year old daughter liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kilijen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Very good. I halved the recipe, so using one full egg made it a little extra goopy, but it turned out fine. I think the sweet potato dampens the heat of the jalepeno, so I was sorry that I left it out of the sour cream. I was low on cumin, so I did a little bit of that, a little coriander and a little cilantro and it was good. Ate this with wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
this recipe was so easy and i must say sooooo tasty. the sour cream jalapeno lime sauce is the key. i made it last nite and was so good my wife insisted i make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Very interesting. I don't usually like sour cream dips, but decided to make it anyway since other reviewers insisted that it was "key" to the dish. I made the cakes smaller than suggested and still had to broil them longer than the recipe stated; but it all turned out well in the end. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
It was VERY great. My husband I enjoyed it sooooo much! Flavor, texture and everything was perfect. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States