Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I used the lime sour cream on different black bean cakes. I can't speak for the cakes in this recipe, but the lime sour cream is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Amazing! Great combination of flavors and very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Delicious! Definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Really good! The jalapeno-lime sour cream was a good match and countered the heaviness of the cakes well. After mixing the bean cake ingredients together, I cooked one small cake to check the flavor. It was pretty bland so I added more cumin (about 1 T), plenty of oregano (2 T), some cayenne (1/2 t?), fresh cilantro (1/4 c) and garlic powder. There was a lot more flavor than the first cake I baked, so I would defintely recommend checking the seasonings with a small amount before cooking them all. Thanks for a nice change of pace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I brought this to a very foodie (berkeley, CA) potluck party and it was the first dish gone. People loved it! I added about a 1/4c chopped red bell pepper and a small can of diced green chiles which i think was perfect. Also to the lime sour cream i added a bout a 1/2 tablespoon chopped cilantro and a couple tablespoons finely chopped red bell pepper for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XLOVE33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was so yummy! I garnished mine with sliced avocados as well as the lime sour cream. This is an awesome way to get lots of vitamins. Mmmm... Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I made these tonight for my family who all have different tastes and everyone gobbled them down. I used less jalapeno just to be on the safe side because mine were rather large . Next time I'll use the full amount. A delicious and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilauea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Very good, we had these in wraps with cream cheese and salsa. Would have given 5 stars but they needed just a bit more flavour and I already added some cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Juanita and I have ever so handily made these over 12 times now and received rave reviews at each serving. My compliment to the recipe creator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States