Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This was a delicious and filling side dish. The yam was really wonderful. The next time I try it I would add 2 eggs instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I used the lime sour cream on different black bean cakes. I can't speak for the cakes in this recipe, but the lime sour cream is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Amazing! Great combination of flavors and very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Delicious! Definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Really good! The jalapeno-lime sour cream was a good match and countered the heaviness of the cakes well. After mixing the bean cake ingredients together, I cooked one small cake to check the flavor. It was pretty bland so I added more cumin (about 1 T), plenty of oregano (2 T), some cayenne (1/2 t?), fresh cilantro (1/4 c) and garlic powder. There was a lot more flavor than the first cake I baked, so I would defintely recommend checking the seasonings with a small amount before cooking them all. Thanks for a nice change of pace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I brought this to a very foodie (berkeley, CA) potluck party and it was the first dish gone. People loved it! I added about a 1/4c chopped red bell pepper and a small can of diced green chiles which i think was perfect. Also to the lime sour cream i added a bout a 1/2 tablespoon chopped cilantro and a couple tablespoons finely chopped red bell pepper for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XLOVE33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was so yummy! I garnished mine with sliced avocados as well as the lime sour cream. This is an awesome way to get lots of vitamins. Mmmm... Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I made these tonight for my family who all have different tastes and everyone gobbled them down. I used less jalapeno just to be on the safe side because mine were rather large . Next time I'll use the full amount. A delicious and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilauea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Very good, we had these in wraps with cream cheese and salsa. Would have given 5 stars but they needed just a bit more flavour and I already added some cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States