Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is my all-time favorite meatless recipe. DO NOT pre-cook the yams; you don't want a mushy cake. DO brown very well (just don't burn them like I keep doing); the thinner you make them, the easier. It seems that the lack of flavor noted by others comes from UNDERCOOKING the patties. breadcrumbs, or gluten-free breadcrumbs. For a gluten-free version, I have used quinoa instead of **And here is how I ADORE the sour cream topping: leave out the jalapeno, add a generous sprinkling of salt and extra lime juice, as well as some of the lime ZEST! and garnish with, or mix in, chopped cilantro. No blandness here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
These were really great. I've never had anything similar. I made a few changes. My sweet potatoes were really large so I actually ended up tripling the recipe. I microwaved the grated sweet potatoes for 1 minute as mentioned in other reviews. I had 20oz cans of black beans, so I used 2 of those and 1 can of refried black beans. I did not mash the regular black beans, so in the cakes you had whole beans plus the refried black beans helping to hold it all together. I added lots of jarred jalapeños and a little bit of juice from the jar. DH and I both really loved these. I wrapped this & put them in the refrigerator and hope they are just as good reheated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke789

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyInBliss
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I worked at a restaurant years ago that served spicy black bean cakes. Ever since then I have been looking for a good recipe to curve my black bean cake cravings. This recipe isn't really close to the one at the restaurant, but it is still pretty good. Next time I make these I think I will add one more egg to make them a bit moister and maybe try frying them rather than using the broiler. This was a nice quick and easy meal, not to mention healthy for us. I didn't use the topping that was suggested but rather topped mine with guacamole since that was how they were topped at the restaurant I worked at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I've made this recipe TONS of times! I usually halve it down in size because it yields a big batch (halving the recipe would give you about 6-7 patties that are two and a half inches diameter). These are great to bring to parties too, since they bake in so little time (and are easy to warm up once already baked!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Really, really good! I didn't have the jalapenos so I added some cayenne pepper instead. Microwaved the sweet potato as suggested and the texture was perfect. My kids (4, 3, and 1) loved them. The lime sour cream was fantastic, even without the jalapenos. I would give this recipe 6 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Overall good recipe with a few adjustments. I read all the reviews and combined thier advice. I halved the recipe and made smaller patties, 10 in all. I also added diced red pepper, cilantro, green chiles, and chili powder. To the sour cream sauce, I added red pepper and cilantro to give it a nice color. Also I found that searing the patties made them stay togther better. And don't forget to microwave the sweet potato as stated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Outstanding!!! Made it very regularly now and when I've taken it to parties, people have RAVED about it!!! Special note - you cut alot of jalapenos with this dish - USE GLOVES!!! I found out the hard way just how bad jalapeno burns can get!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
For those who are wondering, this recipe comes straight out of the Martha Stewart "Great Food Fast" cookbook. But, regardless, I made it tonight and thought it was quite time consuming. I should have read the reviews here first because they do turn out quite bland. As many previous reviewers have said, the lime sour cream really makes the recipe. Don't skip that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Used the recommendations of previous reviewers. Sauteed red bell pepper along with the onion and microwaved the sweet potato for a minute. Also added oregano, coriander, cayenne, and fresh cilanto to the bean cakes. Added fresh cilanto to the lime sour cream, too. I wish I had also added a small can of chiles as one reviewer had mentioned because, although the flavor was great, they were dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Added 1 T. chili powder and 1 t. ground coriander. I'd also recommend microwaving the grated sweet potato. I made this twice, once substituting 1/4 cup soy yogurt for the egg - both ways turned out well. Wasn't crazy about the lime sour cream, instead I served with plain sour cream and salsa. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States