Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was truly fabulous. My skeptical husband was even impressed, and did not mind that we were having a "veg" dinner.I was a little nervous about how this was going to turn out, and,after reading the reviews, I decided to leave out the jalapenos from the sour cream, I substituted four egg whites for the one egg, and made about eighteen thin patties. I will use this recipe again and again, it's going into the rotation for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Delish! I might try making them bite size for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Delicious. I loved that they were baked. Mine were a little on the soggy side, but I think I just needed to leave them in longer. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
The recipe appeared a little time consuming, but once I actually had all the ingredients on hand, it didn't take long to throw together at all! These were really healthy, and packed with delicious veggies and flavors. And the lime sour cream was divine! My husband and I loved these--I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
grated the sweet potatoes small pieces and make small paties that are not thick and add tabasco sauce instead of jalapenos. You cand add fresh coriander to the sauce and i did not put hot stuff into the sauce so it's refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barrannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
These were good, and I'll make them again. I shredded the sweet potato and made the sour cream topping the night before to save time. I followed the other suggestions and made these changes to the recipe: use 2 eggs in the bean mixture and also add to the basic recipe 1 can mild diced chilies, 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp coriander. I also used 1Tbsp jarred chopped jalapenos instead of fresh and it was really mild so I'll add more next time. I'll also add some cilantro next time. This recipe made 18 patties (golf ball size when I scooped them out) which I flattened. I had to move the oven rack to the middle because they burned otherwise, and then I baked them for 7 min on one side and 4 on the other. They were good, but needed more spice. Also, next time I'm going to make them much thinner/flatter and add more salt & pepper (I only used 1/4 tsp of each).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
THe best!!! Seiously, EVERYONE loved this one and i only made 1 batch! Next time I'll make triple the recipe!! The only thing I changed as the green onions, I used a regular onion. Probably about a half a cup chopped. Yummmmmmmmmm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I wanted to only give this one star, but my husband didn't think they were that bad. I couldn't even eat these and I was disappointed because I had such high hopes after all the great reviews. :( Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very time consuming recipe, but worth the effort! Definitely make the lime sour cream to accompany the black bean cakes - I was wary at first, but very pleased that I had gone ahead and tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is my all-time favorite meatless recipe. DO NOT pre-cook the yams; you don't want a mushy cake. DO brown very well (just don't burn them like I keep doing); the thinner you make them, the easier. It seems that the lack of flavor noted by others comes from UNDERCOOKING the patties. breadcrumbs, or gluten-free breadcrumbs. For a gluten-free version, I have used quinoa instead of **And here is how I ADORE the sour cream topping: leave out the jalapeno, add a generous sprinkling of salt and extra lime juice, as well as some of the lime ZEST! and garnish with, or mix in, chopped cilantro. No blandness here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 151-160 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States