Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
went down really well - even with the meat eaters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
What a great way to get your children to eat their sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
The recipe took a bit more time than I expected. But, overall these were delicious!!! Don't skip the sauce it makes the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I made this recipe for a dinner party and these were a huge hit. I served them with grilled halibut and homemade mango salsa. It was the perfect flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I enjoyed both making and eating these versatile little cakes! They were very easy to make and I can see lots of potential for other flavors, such as making them with ginger instead of cumin for an Asian style cake. Mine turned out rather dry, though, so I will likely use less breadcrumbs next time. I was a bad girl and didn't make the lime sour cream but instead served it with fresh home made guacamole on top and it was super yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
These were awesome. Even the kids enjoyed them. We followed the recipe exactly but didi microwave the sweet potato for about 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
These are great! I like the sweet potato in them- adds texture and a bit of flavor. Made them without the jalapeno and they are still very savory with just the cumin. I did a different sauce: 1 ripe avocado 1 C sour cream 1/2 bunch cilantro 1-2 Tbs. lime juice 1 tsp. minced garlic salt to taste Process all ingredients in food processor until blended and cilantro is chopped. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is an awesome!!! Instead of using the oven, I sprayed a skillet with Pam and cooked on both sides for about 4 min. each at med high heat. I don't even like sweet potatoes, but man, this recipe is yummmmy! My friend, who doesn't like sweet potatoes either, loved this recipe as well! I made extra and put in a bowl in the fridge and cooked 2 days later for another dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
OMG!! Sooo good! I didn't have green onions so I used diced red onion instead, and I followed other reviewers and microwaved the sweet potato before adding it to the mixture. If you want them spicy then add more jalapenos or use a spicier pepper. I added to the sauce making it with a full cup of reduced fat sour cream, zest of one lime, juice of 1/2 a lime, 1 minced jalapeno and a handful of chopped cilantro. Even my 2 and 4 year olds loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
These are very tasty. However, my cakes turned out dry. I made smaller sizes for dipping, so maybe that's the reason? I also added extra garlic and green onion, and a little bit of salsa in the mix. Definitely make the lime sour cream; it's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States