Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
These get 5 stars for how good they are for you and are tasty as well. The only thing I did differently is added canned chopped jalepeno since there was a recall on fresh jalepenos. Made them nice and spicy. Though I do have to say, I had quite a time not breaking these apart when trying to flip them and they took much longer than the 4 mins stated or they would have been mushy. I finally figured out at the end that when it came time to flip, I put a piece of foil (with little oil) on top of the cakes and flipped pan and all, making it easier to heat the other sides. Then I carefully slid them off of foil when it was done and they stayed in tact. I tried frying these in a pan with a little olive oil and that did not work well at all. It just soaked up the oil and stuck to the pan. I will have to try the pam next time, but I may just stick with broiling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I didn't have sweet potatoes in the house and these were still very good. I added more seasonings including chili powder and used whole wheat flour in lieu of the bread crumbs. Made a really nice, healthy lunch Christina and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
went down really well - even with the meat eaters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
What a great way to get your children to eat their sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
The recipe took a bit more time than I expected. But, overall these were delicious!!! Don't skip the sauce it makes the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I made this recipe for a dinner party and these were a huge hit. I served them with grilled halibut and homemade mango salsa. It was the perfect flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I enjoyed both making and eating these versatile little cakes! They were very easy to make and I can see lots of potential for other flavors, such as making them with ginger instead of cumin for an Asian style cake. Mine turned out rather dry, though, so I will likely use less breadcrumbs next time. I was a bad girl and didn't make the lime sour cream but instead served it with fresh home made guacamole on top and it was super yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
These were awesome. Even the kids enjoyed them. We followed the recipe exactly but didi microwave the sweet potato for about 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
These are great! I like the sweet potato in them- adds texture and a bit of flavor. Made them without the jalapeno and they are still very savory with just the cumin. I did a different sauce: 1 ripe avocado 1 C sour cream 1/2 bunch cilantro 1-2 Tbs. lime juice 1 tsp. minced garlic salt to taste Process all ingredients in food processor until blended and cilantro is chopped. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is an awesome!!! Instead of using the oven, I sprayed a skillet with Pam and cooked on both sides for about 4 min. each at med high heat. I don't even like sweet potatoes, but man, this recipe is yummmmy! My friend, who doesn't like sweet potatoes either, loved this recipe as well! I made extra and put in a bowl in the fridge and cooked 2 days later for another dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States