Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I actually think these were like a 3 1/2. I don't know what I did wrong but they didn't have a ton of taste to me and didn't hold well together. I added red pepper flakes and extra cumin. The sour cream sauce is the best part. I'm going to go back and read the reviews b/c I want these to work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Great recipe. If you chill the mixture before making them into patties, they hold up better. I fried them in a bit of olive oil and they turned out perfectly. Substitued the sour cream with low fat yogurt. Think I will try making these a bit smaller and serving them as appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
These were a surprise hit; we loved them! The lime sour cream was the perfect accompaniment. I did not change anything and I did not precook the sweet potato and it did not need it. I will use these as an appetizer and as a main course. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I made this as written. It was great! I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITOMART

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Very yummy. I love black beans and sweet potatoes, but it would never have occurred to me to eat them together. Followed the recipe exactly, just microwaved the sweet potato for about 2 minutes per someone's suggestion. Both my husband and I thought they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
the sweet potatoes are a lovely, unexpected yet subtle tatse. this recipe will be a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSARTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
WOW! These were amazing! I made these Friday night and by Saturday afternoon they were gone! My boyfriend and sister ate them all! I made a second batch Sunday and froze them so I could have them for my lunches. I also loved the sour cream mix, but my sister preferred salsa with it. I cooked them on the stove top, only because the second I turn on my broiler the fire alarm goes off :( I also followed others advice and used two eggs- they were perfectly moist! Aside from that I followed the recipe exactly. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrilledCheeseGrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very Good! I used 2 eggs and used rolled oats in place of the bread crumbs. I also added a chopped zucchini and red pepper. I sauted these vegetables with the green onion and sweet potato, and mixed everthing else together to combine. I froze the extras. (I did not make the sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
i was disappointed. I wasn't a fan of the consistency with the shredded potatoes--maybe they would have been better if i cooked them with the veggies, but as written these were just ok. i won't make them again, but i'll finish up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
These get 5 stars for how good they are for you and are tasty as well. The only thing I did differently is added canned chopped jalepeno since there was a recall on fresh jalepenos. Made them nice and spicy. Though I do have to say, I had quite a time not breaking these apart when trying to flip them and they took much longer than the 4 mins stated or they would have been mushy. I finally figured out at the end that when it came time to flip, I put a piece of foil (with little oil) on top of the cakes and flipped pan and all, making it easier to heat the other sides. Then I carefully slid them off of foil when it was done and they stayed in tact. I tried frying these in a pan with a little olive oil and that did not work well at all. It just soaked up the oil and stuck to the pan. I will have to try the pam next time, but I may just stick with broiling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States