Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I actually think these were like a 3 1/2. I don't know what I did wrong but they didn't have a ton of taste to me and didn't hold well together. I added red pepper flakes and extra cumin. The sour cream sauce is the best part. I'm going to go back and read the reviews b/c I want these to work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Great recipe. If you chill the mixture before making them into patties, they hold up better. I fried them in a bit of olive oil and they turned out perfectly. Substitued the sour cream with low fat yogurt. Think I will try making these a bit smaller and serving them as appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
These were a surprise hit; we loved them! The lime sour cream was the perfect accompaniment. I did not change anything and I did not precook the sweet potato and it did not need it. I will use these as an appetizer and as a main course. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I made this as written. It was great! I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITOMART

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Very yummy. I love black beans and sweet potatoes, but it would never have occurred to me to eat them together. Followed the recipe exactly, just microwaved the sweet potato for about 2 minutes per someone's suggestion. Both my husband and I thought they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
the sweet potatoes are a lovely, unexpected yet subtle tatse. this recipe will be a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSARTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
WOW! These were amazing! I made these Friday night and by Saturday afternoon they were gone! My boyfriend and sister ate them all! I made a second batch Sunday and froze them so I could have them for my lunches. I also loved the sour cream mix, but my sister preferred salsa with it. I cooked them on the stove top, only because the second I turn on my broiler the fire alarm goes off :( I also followed others advice and used two eggs- they were perfectly moist! Aside from that I followed the recipe exactly. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrilledCheeseGrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very Good! I used 2 eggs and used rolled oats in place of the bread crumbs. I also added a chopped zucchini and red pepper. I sauted these vegetables with the green onion and sweet potato, and mixed everthing else together to combine. I froze the extras. (I did not make the sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
i was disappointed. I wasn't a fan of the consistency with the shredded potatoes--maybe they would have been better if i cooked them with the veggies, but as written these were just ok. i won't make them again, but i'll finish up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
These get 5 stars for how good they are for you and are tasty as well. The only thing I did differently is added canned chopped jalepeno since there was a recall on fresh jalepenos. Made them nice and spicy. Though I do have to say, I had quite a time not breaking these apart when trying to flip them and they took much longer than the 4 mins stated or they would have been mushy. I finally figured out at the end that when it came time to flip, I put a piece of foil (with little oil) on top of the cakes and flipped pan and all, making it easier to heat the other sides. Then I carefully slid them off of foil when it was done and they stayed in tact. I tried frying these in a pan with a little olive oil and that did not work well at all. It just soaked up the oil and stuck to the pan. I will have to try the pam next time, but I may just stick with broiling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States