Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Lots of yummy flavors. My family really likes spices so I doubled the garlic and added lots of cilantro to the burgers. I wasn't crazy about the sauce UNTIL I tried it with the burgers......very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
perhaps I messed this up, but these were dry and way too spicy. we love things with a kick, but you couldn't taste anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
A DELICIOUS way to use the sweet potato I had on hand. It was a great addition to the black bean cakes! I skipped on using the jalapeno pepper but used a bit of chipotle powder instead to add a little pepper spice. Really liked that the onions were sauteed prior to mixing with the black beans, but next time I think I'll also saute the grated sweet potato with the onion briefly before adding to the mashed beans. They were a little bit crunchier in the cakes than I had hoped. (The sour cream dressing thinned with a little more lime makes a great salad dressing, too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I made the recipe exactly as written. It was ok. For a recipe that has onion, jalapeno, and garlic in it, there wasn't a lot of flavor. The sour cream was excellent, though, and was the one thing that made the dish interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Yummy! Definately add cilantro to the lime sour cream. This was a great, easy, dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Pretty good...would have been better if I had added the seeds with the jalepeno since I like it spicy. Omitted the egg,and used shredded zucchini and chopped mushrooms instead of the sweet potato. I also used panko crumbs. I halved the recipe and made 4 decent sized patties. Topped with salsa. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Pretty time consuming for not a lot of flavor. Turned out as they should, just nothing special for the work involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlysoxfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Prep took longer for me than stated. From start to finish it took me a little over, an hour. I followed recipe exactly and thought they were delicious, although next time I will add more spices(and we are not ones for real spicy dishes). IMO these defintely need a sauce as they are a little dry and the sour cream/lime/jalepeno was a very mild, nice sauce. I really liked broiling instead of frying too. Thank you, Christine, I will make again definitely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Very tasty! I made them as written and they were really good! Nice spice to them and the lime sour cream finishes them off nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Use 2/3 can of refried beans and 1 can of rinsed and mashed black beans, 2 Cups shredded sweet potato, 1 cup of chopped cilantro, 5 cloves minced garlic, 1 sliced and seeded jalapeno, 1/2 tsp. red pepper, 2 tsp. cumin, 2 beaten eggs, and 1/2 cup rolled oats. In skillet with 2 T. EVOO, saute garlic and jalapeno. Add sweet potatoes. Cook for 10 min. on med.-low heat. Remove from heat. Let cool for a few minutes. Add Everything to mashed beans and mix well. Put mixture into refrigerator for at least an hour. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Pat out into 16-18 patties. Bake 20-25 min. turning over midway. The 1/2 cup sour cream, 1/2 chopped cilantro, 1/2 lime juiced and zested, sauce is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris p.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States