Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was a slam dunk! My whole family loved these. We tried them for lunch and were so good, we had them for dinner too. I added half a can of whole kernal corn, 3 whole eggs and also mixed part of it in the food processor instead of mashing with a fork. I added chopped cilantro to the sour cream and it was delicious. I wanted to eat it with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Maybe I did something wrong-- I cut the recipe in half, except I used an entire egg, but these turned out terrible for me. I also added red pepper and cilantro and perhaps I used too many veggies. Not sure, but these didnt form balls for me, or really patties, I sort of just had to clump them together. they totally fell apart. The flavor was good, but they certainly werent "cakes".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
We are a family of carnivors that are trying to cut down on the meat. This was not bad, but no mistakin' this is a patty of beans. Not sure what I was expecting. We may try it again, but I will try to fry them next time, I think it might give them more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I made the patties just like it says, and they came out terrific! I skipped the sour cream, though, and made them into veggie burgers. The patties are the perfect size. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
After preparing and tasting this recipe as is I thought that it would be an excellent filling for a burrito. Ran to the store and grabbed some 8" flour tortillas and a avocado. Layered the warmed burrito with brown rice, spicy black bean cakes, lettuce, tomato, avocado and topped with the jalapeno sour cream. Muy Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
great for being so healthy. the sweet potato is what makes this so good. and make the sauce with it, it's a must! my carnivore husband was even a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
These were SO fantastic! My boyfriend and his roommates were grilling their "manly meat" for dinner and being a vegetarian, I decided to make these as my meal. Needless to say, the guys ended up eating these instead of their grilled meat! No joke! In fact, my boyfriend requested that I make these again just last week. The only thing we did differently was to add more lime juice to the sauce. This gave it just a bit more of a bite! We enjoyed these without microwaving the sweet potato and really keeping an eye on them in the broiler. Do be cautious as to the size of the jalapenos (obviously) as the second time we made them, we got brave and ended up with our mouths on fire! Thank you SO much for the great recipe! I have a feeling I'll be making these a lot in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
These were amazing. My husband made these for my Mother's Day dinner (this was actually the first recipe he's cooked in his whole life!) and they were to die for. The lime cream is a must with these. Fresh lime zest really adds a kick to it, and he added more jalapenos than what was called for. I just hope he is willing to make these for me again soon--I'm craving them already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Lots of yummy flavors. My family really likes spices so I doubled the garlic and added lots of cilantro to the burgers. I wasn't crazy about the sauce UNTIL I tried it with the burgers......very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
perhaps I messed this up, but these were dry and way too spicy. we love things with a kick, but you couldn't taste anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States