Spicy Black Bean Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
After reading all the rave reviews of this recipe I was excited to try it. However, after making it exactly as stated, I was disappointed, as were my guests. The cakes don't seem to have enough flavor. The lime sour cream is awesome and was the only saving grace for this recipe, but as is this recipe is just too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I became a member on allrecipes just so I could rate this dish, it was that amazing. Other than topping it with fresh mango & avocado salsa, I made it to the recipes exact instructions. I don't know if I've ever had a meal with so many different and complimentary flavors. It is FANTASTIC! I love the idea someone posted of making them bite size for an appetizer too. Thanks for posting this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
These are great! I microwaved the sweet potatoes as suggested and used Non-fat Greek Yogurt instead of sour cream for the sauce recipe. My husband has asked for them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I made smaller patties to serve as an appetizer for my dinner group. They loved them. I think the lime sour cream truly makes them. The cakes themselves were very good. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
My son who is a vegetarian loved these, I also liked them. The lime sauce makes it complete. I will make again, wouldn't change a thing, Great for a quick dinner idea, for me these came together, quickly thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as it was written--how could you rate a recipe that you changed first?? My family loved it and so did the kid's friends who were visiting. Definitely a winner! Moist inside, crunchy outside, and the sauce was a great mild & creamy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Good! Made small patties not larger ones. And put broiler 1/2 way in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLissa and Phillip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I thought these cakes were really good. I was surprised to read reviews that said they were dry because mine weren't dry at all. The sweet potatoe added a nice surprising sweetness. I thought they had lots of flavor. Will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Made a 1/2 recipe for the two adults in our house. Subbed the jalapenos in the patties for green pepper, since hubby doesn't like spicy. Didn't need to nuke the sweet potato at all. I baked mine on a cookie sheet since I had other things in the oven, and it worked well. Made sure to spray the cookie sheet a second time when I flipped them. Also, didn't have lime juice, so used lemon instead in the cream...would've preferred the lime, but the lemon still tasted good. Served with a peanut butter slaw...the contrasting flavors worked well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Excellent all the way around. I used most of the modifications suggested and they were great. I cooked mine on the grill instead of under the broiler. About 8 min on Med before flipping for the final 4 min - worked great. Definately don't skip the lime sr cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States