Spicy Black and Red Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
I have been making this exact recipe for a couple of years. Funny how this matches the one of have been making from COOKING LIGHT. Aren't these supposed to be your own original recipes? Great soup recipe COOKING LIGHT came up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
On the good side, this was very easy to make and a good way to use up cans of beans. But it wasn't as good as my expectations -- just didn't have quite enough flavor for something called "spicy." But not bad either - just needs spiced up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I loved the basics of this soup - you had no spices OR "love" so I added a whole lot of cumin, chili powder, cayanne pepper, wayy more garlic and a can of creamed corn. I blended up a can of pinto beans and the tomatoes (sweet onion) to make it a bit thicker. Great Base reciepe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I agree that this is a good, basic soup recipe. I also had to "spice" it up a bit by adding cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, black pepper, cayenne pepper, red wine vinegar, oregano, and basil. Adjust to your own taste, and you've got a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Really good. This has become a staple at our house. We love to mix in a spoonful of sour cream to our bowls and sprinkle with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
The only reason I'm giving this three stars is because my husband said it was "all right," meanwhile I did not care for it much at all, and I'd give it more of a 2.5. I fail to see how something can be called "spicy" when the only "spicy" ingredients are the green chiles, which really, are not all that spicy. Also, sugar is not exactly spicy either. Still, I noticed this before making it, and added plenty of cayenne pepper, chili powder and additional oregano and garlic powder. I made this in a slow cooker, so I left out the veg. oil, but kept everything else the same. I think this would be better minus the sugar, but I don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Easy recipe; family enjoyed it. Makes enough for two dinners for family of four. Couldn't find frozen shoepeg corn, so used regular frozen corn, and served with warm tortillas, and topped soup with shredded cheese. Tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I made this for supper last night and did add extra garlic and cayanne pepper and it came out perfect. What a nice little zing it had!!! Matter of fact, looking at the recipe this morning I noticed I had forgotten the diced tomatoes. Forgetting this ingredient I was still very impressed with this soup, so I wont add this ingredient to my left overs, but I may possibly(?) add this the next time I make this. Great recipe Chelsea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This is a great crockpot recipe, especially for church suppers. I use only black beans,instead of kidney beans, and spice the soup up with cumin and chili powder. This is a favorite at church and in our home on those cold New England evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
The sugar and onions in this recipe go together really well! Very healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States