Spicy Beef Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
It's rare that I take a chance on completely unrated recipes, simply because I like to see what other people said about the recipe before I try it ... but this stew was just what I was looking for so I had to try it! I was pleasantly surprised and now wish that I would have thought to take a pic of the stew so you could have a photo for your fantastic recipe! I'm not a huge fan of beef stews usually, but using the base of spaghetti sauce made all of the difference to me (I used Ragu original meatless). I tried to follow the recipe as closely as I could while using the items that I had on hand. The only changes that I made were using 2 cans of mixed veggies, rather than frozen, because that's what I had, and I used plain diced tomatoes since I didn't have any with chili's, but I did add a sprinkle of chili powder and a little bit of dried jalapenos to give it the kick that it was missing from the chili's. I also used 2 cans of beef broth, to replace the water and bouillon (I was trying to clean out some pantry canned goods, can you tell? lol). I let this cook on low in the crock pot while I was at work all day, which was about 9hrs or so. I severed this over homemade parmesan chive potato pancakes with a dollop of sour cream on top. I have to say this was one of the most successful soups or stews that I've made and we love, LOVED it! Thanks so much for such a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was a very easy meal. The fiance loved it, but it wasn't spicy enough for me. I added some jalapenos in it for the kick. Also, I couldn't find buillion and I didn't have beef broth, so I just added a ton of garlic powder. I like that it is a thicker stew, and I loved the ground beef. I had a ton of leftovers, but I don't feel bad about eating them. It is delicious. Try scaling back, though, unless you want a week's worth of stew. Also, I was in a hurry, so I cooked it on high for 4 hours. It turned out okay, but would have been better with the suggested time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yeya
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I LOVE this soup/stew!! I am not sure what is wrong but on the AR iphone app it says this recipe has 140 reviews and 4 1/2 stars. The most common thing people talk about is the spice level. I recommend checking the level of spiciness in the rotel and modify the pepper to your liking. My husband and I like spicy so I add original rotel and a little extra pepper. I also never cook it for 8 hours. I blanch the frozen veggies and bring everything to a boil then simmer for at least an hour. The longest I have left it is three hours. It is always so easy, yummy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yeya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Very good & easy recipe. Could not find diced tomatoes with peppers, so I added a couple of jalapenos & cayenne pepper. I also added some potatoe. Otherwise left recipe alone and was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is definitely a soup and not a stew, but very good! I took the advice of some other reviewers and added cayenne pepper, plus some garlic powder. I used one beef bouillon cube instead of granules, since that's what I had, and used carrots instead of celery (same reason). I cut the carrots finely and cooked them with the ground beef and onions. I used about 1 1/4 lbs. of meat, as that's the size of the pkg. My husband loved it! I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This was a good, basic vegetable stew. My 5-year-old loved it. I would not, however, call this a "spicy" stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Tried this with leftover roast meat & juice from the roast (flavorful sub for water & broth) , added a diced up potato & substituted the mixed frozen veggies with corn & green beans cause that's all I had! It turned out amazing, kids 8,3 & hubby loved it, will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made this last night for the first time and it's wonderful. Very quick and easy to make. I did take note of other reviewers opinions that said it wasn't very spicy and decided to add two cans of chopped green chilies. It turned out great, with just enough spice to the taste. I'll definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Bucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States