Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! =) But I have made a few changes to it over many uses now. First, I brown the beef chunks in flour to help thicken the sauce. Salt is added at this step as well. Instead of adding plain tomatoes in and jalepenos, I switched it to one (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes with jalepeno peppers - or green peppers - with juice (or you can sub in 1/2 regular diced tomatoes and 1/2 jalepeno for less kick). I also don't just pour them in, I actually puree it up before pouring it into the skillet. I add 2 large white onions to this recipe as well, because the onions (if you use just one) can get lost in this recipe. Thanks for a great recipe! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Linden, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was reallly good!!!....I noticed alot of reviewers did not notice or really tast the curry component....I would suggest that you add the curry amount in the begiining as well as the end.... or just at the end if you dont want a real strong curry flavor....Like garlic and a few other spices the longer you cook them the more mellow in flavor they become....adding them to the end will definitely give you the intended flavor you were looking for in your dish.. If you are using fresh spices about 2 hrs...if you are using dried then 3..I always do this when I am slow cooking..and I always get the flavor of what my dish is suppose to taste like. :) HOPE THIS HELPS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NetNet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sola
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Really delicious! Instead of curry powder, I did 1/2 tablespoon of red curry paste and 1/2 tablespoon of roasted red chili paste, omitted the jalepenos and it was still plenty spicy. I skipped the first stovetop step entirely. Just put everything in the crockpot and let it cook for nearly 10 hours on low. The beef practically shredded itself. We ate it over basmati rice to which I added turmeric and black pepper for color. Highly reccomended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Wow, what a great recipe! I am a low carb lady so this was easy to modify. I totally skipped the browning stage and just tossed the onion and the beef in the slow cooker then mixed up the rest of the ingredients in a bowl and poured it over the meat. I didn't use a jalapeno to save time, and simply used a jar of diced tomatoes with green chilies in it. I also added more curry powder and a little cumin, nutmeg and red pepper to suit our love for strong flavor and spiciness. When it was all done I fished the meat out and thickened the juices with some xanthum powder (availible in your local health food store). I served it with some sauted veggies. Very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Okay, I'll tell you what not to do. Do not add the jalepeno with the seeds inside, don't add extra curry, or extra spice until you've tasted the original recipe. My husband and I are still crying. The good news it was good, but only with 2 or 3 glasses of milk. The meat was very tender, and I hope to try it again using my new suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This was absolutely delicious and the house smelled so good. I did dredge the meat in flour before browning and this seemed to have helped thicken the final product a little. Also added a bit more curry as we love the flavor. Wasn't spicy at all. Served over mashed potatoes this was almost decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Family loves this recipe with 3 TBSP of mother-in-law curry and no jalapeno. We like the spice not the heat. I also saute the onions first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
WOW! This was really good. If you are looking for a true curry recipe, look elsewhere. This is a wonderful twist on a classic beef stew. I didn't use jalepeno pepper but green chilis (kids don't like alot of spice). I also used a roast and then shredded at the end. My 9 year old was picking the meat out of the crockpot! Excellent over rice. Will make again on a nice cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
this was awesome! I served it over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Levesque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Even after altering this recipe b/c I did not have some ingredients, it was awesome. I used chicken, chicken broth, no jalepeno...it was great over jasmine rice. Smelled terrific when we came home from church. My kids ate *3* bowls of it. Great idea, great recipe. Will now try with beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States