Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was a hit for us! Thanks for an easy, great tasting meal that has a kick to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vuthy
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made this a couple days ago and followed some of the suggestions in the reviews such as flouring the beef and using a can of diced tomatoes mixed with diced jalapenos instead of just tomatoes. I didn't find it spicy (as in hot) in the least. I found myself adding another tablespoon of curry powder at the end along with 3 dried chili pods to try to give it more heat. The beef came out very tender, but despite the flour, the broth didn't really thicken. It wasn't bad and I guess my expectations were influenced by seeing th word "curry" in the recipe name so I was expecting something a lot hotter and thicker. It is a good, simple beef stew though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vuthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was fantastic! I served it over Jasmine rice. I definitely recommend using a good quality curry (the quality of curry you use will make or break the dish) Morton and Bassett is one of my favorites and easy to find. We will definitely make this again and it was quite healthy too. I think it might be tasty to add a red or green bell pepper. I didn't find this spicy at all (but I cut the seeds out of the jalepeno since I don't care for much spice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Great flavor, but not spicy. For more heat, add another jalapeno or curry paste. I used extra lean beef stew meat and it was still very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daisycoal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
It was good, but nothing extra special. I will use it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This stew was great. Easy to prepare and so tasty. I was disappointed and thought it would be much spicier. I added 2 jalapenos and still had no kick. If you like your food hot like me, add more peppers. Maybe next time I'll even try different types of peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EKADDO
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was very tasty and I served it over Jasmine rice. I added extra jalapenos and thickened it with a little flour at the end. Good recipe for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
We absolutely flipped for this recipe. I am making it again tonight and inviting the neighbors! I followed the recipe exactly adding a tbsp of curry pouder at the end.. Oh, I used curry powder instead of curry paste because that was all I had. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKLisaK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great recipe! the only thing i would have changed is that i would have made more for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I'm torn. Maybe I just wasn't in the mood for this after I made it? The beef was delicious (texture, etc), but the dish just seemed overpowered by the spice. There really wasn't a depth of flavor...just pure heat. I doubt I'll do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States