Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was good. I added a heaping tablespoon of curry since so many reviewers said the curry flavor was light. I also thickened the sauce with flour before serving. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Excellent! I used green chiles instead of jalepenos because that is what I had on hand. Also, skipped the browning step as I was short on time... turned out great! The sauce was a little thin so next time I might add a little flour to the beef like I do in my other stews. Thanks for a fantastic dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Made January 2008.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was good. BUT...it definitely needs spicing up. I'm pretty good at "doctoring" my recipes, and this was one of them. The heat was just right, but I added almost twice the curry, garlic salt and lots of pepper. Served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I don't know if I did something wrong, but I followed this recipe to a T and it tasted and smelt awful! Would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
OK. It was good, somewhat spicy, and did make the house smell rather nive while it cooked. It didn't seem to fill up the crock pot, I'm contemplating making it again with a load of potatoes or other starch added to cook with the meat and sauce. Or perhaps a load of vegatables to make a stew...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was a hit for us! Thanks for an easy, great tasting meal that has a kick to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Schulte Kubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vuthy
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made this a couple days ago and followed some of the suggestions in the reviews such as flouring the beef and using a can of diced tomatoes mixed with diced jalapenos instead of just tomatoes. I didn't find it spicy (as in hot) in the least. I found myself adding another tablespoon of curry powder at the end along with 3 dried chili pods to try to give it more heat. The beef came out very tender, but despite the flour, the broth didn't really thicken. It wasn't bad and I guess my expectations were influenced by seeing th word "curry" in the recipe name so I was expecting something a lot hotter and thicker. It is a good, simple beef stew though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vuthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was fantastic! I served it over Jasmine rice. I definitely recommend using a good quality curry (the quality of curry you use will make or break the dish) Morton and Bassett is one of my favorites and easy to find. We will definitely make this again and it was quite healthy too. I think it might be tasty to add a red or green bell pepper. I didn't find this spicy at all (but I cut the seeds out of the jalepeno since I don't care for much spice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Great flavor, but not spicy. For more heat, add another jalapeno or curry paste. I used extra lean beef stew meat and it was still very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daisycoal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States