Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I loved th beginning of this recipe but had to change it up to suit my famil's taste. I added curry powder to my flour mixture for dredging my beef. I used the coconut milk like other suggessted instead of the beef broth. I also added 4 chopped carrots and 2 large sweet potatoes. Towards the end of cooking I added a can of chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Great taste when made as the recipe described. I would like the sauce to be a little thicker though. I might add carrots and potatoes next time to make it a bit more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMESWHO
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very nice. I didn't do the browning of the meat and it was just fine. Next time I will add some apple to give it a bit of sweetness with the spice, besides I love beef curry with apple. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I thought this was OK. I increased all the seasonings and it was still not tasty enough for me. My husband liked it and we ate without complaints, but nothing to write home about. I would definately use better quality meat than "stew meat."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This came out really good but HOT! I dredged the meat in flour, browned it in peanut oil and then deglazed the pan with beef broth. I subbed beef bouillon and coconut milk for the beef broth. I also doubled the curry. I added sweet potatoes and two habeneros instead of jalapenos. I cooked everything in the slow cooker on low for about 10 hours. It made me and my husband sweat but yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Recipe is a great one but in order for me to make it a real stew I added potatoes and carrots...Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This recipe tasted so good for me and my family. I know I will fix it again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
It was quite good. I subbed beef bouillon and coconut milk for the beef broth. I also doubled the curry as suggested by others. It makes a lot of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made this using venison stew meat -- it was fabulous -- no one knew it was not beef. As suggested by others, I floured the meat before browning. I didn't have fresh ginger and used 1/4 teaspoon of powdered ginger. I used 3 jalepeno peppers (with seeds removed, 5 cloves of garlic and added a bit of cumin and garlic powder. I also added an additional tablespoon of curry powder about 1 hour before serving. It gave it nice heat but not so much that the spice is a distraction from the great flavor. This is definitely a keeper in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Really good - I make this a lot in the winter. Also use Pataks curry paste rather than powder to give it more oomph. I will sometimes add a couple of tablespoons of coconut milk powder towards the end - really nice and transforms it into coconut-curry type dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States