Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
It was quite good. I subbed beef bouillon and coconut milk for the beef broth. I also doubled the curry as suggested by others. It makes a lot of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made this using venison stew meat -- it was fabulous -- no one knew it was not beef. As suggested by others, I floured the meat before browning. I didn't have fresh ginger and used 1/4 teaspoon of powdered ginger. I used 3 jalepeno peppers (with seeds removed, 5 cloves of garlic and added a bit of cumin and garlic powder. I also added an additional tablespoon of curry powder about 1 hour before serving. It gave it nice heat but not so much that the spice is a distraction from the great flavor. This is definitely a keeper in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Really good - I make this a lot in the winter. Also use Pataks curry paste rather than powder to give it more oomph. I will sometimes add a couple of tablespoons of coconut milk powder towards the end - really nice and transforms it into coconut-curry type dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Enjoyed it! My husband wants more spice next time though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I feel this worked really well. I did follow the advice of some of the other reviews and used a curry paste, Patak's Madras paste. I browned my onions first, then my meat and added the paste with the garlic and the ginger. I then sliced up some potatoes and other veg to make this a meal in a pot thing, browned them off too, this is something I always do with the veg in stews or soups as I think it gives them a better flavour. Then I deglazed my pan with the stock. I didn't need to add flour, you don't want a curry too thick, it needs a certain amount of liquid. I just found this to be really easy and tasty. Thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I noticed the overall positive feedback for this particular recipie, and I think this a wonderful dish to experiment with, depending your taste. I found that dicing up a few russet potatoes and layering them in helps thicken the dish and makes serving over rice or whatnot optional. Otherwise use flour to thicken. Another option is to serve over something like Marrakesh brand cous-cous, since it cooks much faster than most rices and is a bit thicker to mix or serve on top of. You can also allow the meat, broth, and tomatoes to simmer a while longer, which reduces the water a bit. Add spices as desired. Also, I agree with many other reviewers who used curry pastes over powder. I used Patak's brand Vindaloo Curry Paste (w/ cumin & chile). It is nice and thick and quite hot on its own. I think The best way to use this is to throw in a teaspoon or so while browning the meat, along with the around half the jalapenos and onion. While I prefer fresh ginger and garlic, I found a wonderful product from Christopher Ranch - "Garlic/Ginger Stir Fry". Very hearty and puree style, quite sharp & fresh tasting. Excellent for many dishes. Sort of a short cut, but works really well! I dropped a teaspoon in the skillet while I prepared the meat and veggies, and added a bit more in the slow cooker later on. As for the peppers, I used three fresh jalapenos (seeds included) and two fresh habaneros for real heat, and rounded the dish off with a diced green bell pepper. I also threw in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very nice but I would use curry paste next time and try that. A little like a hot stew and I feel as though it just needs a tweak to be a real 'winner'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
If you want this to be spicy use jar jalepenos instead of fresh. I made as stated the first time and was disappointed that it wasn't spicy. The second time used the jar ones and tomato puree like another reviewer suggested and it tasted and looked more like what you would get in an Indian Restaurant. Much thicker. But the beef broth was a little overpowering. I will water it down next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jondra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I tried this recipe as I had some stewing beef and hadn't used my crock pot for a while. It is a nice twist from the usual curry recipes I've made. The meat was very tender and flavourful and I decided to add some potatoes to go along with the 'stew' theme and found they complimented the recipe well. I served it over some rice and it made a good hearty meal for the family! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
good thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States