Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Great taste when made as the recipe described. I would like the sauce to be a little thicker though. I might add carrots and potatoes next time to make it a bit more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMESWHO
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very nice. I didn't do the browning of the meat and it was just fine. Next time I will add some apple to give it a bit of sweetness with the spice, besides I love beef curry with apple. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I thought this was OK. I increased all the seasonings and it was still not tasty enough for me. My husband liked it and we ate without complaints, but nothing to write home about. I would definately use better quality meat than "stew meat."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This came out really good but HOT! I dredged the meat in flour, browned it in peanut oil and then deglazed the pan with beef broth. I subbed beef bouillon and coconut milk for the beef broth. I also doubled the curry. I added sweet potatoes and two habeneros instead of jalapenos. I cooked everything in the slow cooker on low for about 10 hours. It made me and my husband sweat but yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Recipe is a great one but in order for me to make it a real stew I added potatoes and carrots...Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This recipe tasted so good for me and my family. I know I will fix it again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
It was quite good. I subbed beef bouillon and coconut milk for the beef broth. I also doubled the curry as suggested by others. It makes a lot of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made this using venison stew meat -- it was fabulous -- no one knew it was not beef. As suggested by others, I floured the meat before browning. I didn't have fresh ginger and used 1/4 teaspoon of powdered ginger. I used 3 jalepeno peppers (with seeds removed, 5 cloves of garlic and added a bit of cumin and garlic powder. I also added an additional tablespoon of curry powder about 1 hour before serving. It gave it nice heat but not so much that the spice is a distraction from the great flavor. This is definitely a keeper in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Really good - I make this a lot in the winter. Also use Pataks curry paste rather than powder to give it more oomph. I will sometimes add a couple of tablespoons of coconut milk powder towards the end - really nice and transforms it into coconut-curry type dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Enjoyed it! My husband wants more spice next time though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States