Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This recipe needed more curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Delish! Made in the crock pot - 5 hours on high. Floured the beef and browned in a skillet. Used the diced tomatoes with the jalapeno peppers, just a dash of the red pepper sauce and added some diced green peppers and some mushrooms. Otherwise, followed the recipe - smelled so good in the house! Served over baked potatoes diced up - yum! Had a nice flavor without being too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
this is fantastic .. great flavor! I have made this recipe as is, and it's delicious!! the only thing I would do is to dredge your meat in some flour before you sear it... it makes a nice coating on the meat, locks the flavor in, and it also helps to thicken up the sauce while in the slow cooker ..so it's not so runny it's almost like a gravy. for people who don't like too much spice, stick to this EXACT recipe (don't let the jalapeno scare you .. with or without seeds, there is no overpowering spiciness) .. for those who like more of a Ooomph in their food, a little kick... right when the food is done (I do mine for 6 or 7 hours), add another 1 or 2 tsp's (do 1 at first, stir and mix well...go by taste) of curry .. I find the curry flavor kind of gets lost in the diced tomatoes, so if you like your curry/spicyness, try that.. sometimes I add in another clove of garlic, and some more diced onion (half of a small one) towards the end, just for more fresh flavors, and cook until onions are soft...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
The whole family loved it. We served it over brown rice. I had some left over roast beef, which I just chunked up/half shredded. I'm a wimp, so no jalapeno, but others added spice (Scorned Woman hot sauce). I will DEFINITELY make again (and again.) It contained three ingredients the hubs loves: beef, rice, and curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie JOY!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I made this dish for Father's Day. I doubled the recipe with 2 lbs stew meat. The dish was tasty. However, I thought 2 cans of tomatoes was quite overpowering. I used stewed tomatoes instead of the kind recommended in this recipe. The next time I attempt this dish, I'll use less tinned tomatoes and check for taste. I served the stew with Mexican Orzo Pasta. Great combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
OMG, we LOVED this! I used 1 1/2 lbs of stew meat, 4 cloves of garlic and a can of tomatoes with chilies instead of the jalapeno pepper. Cooked on high in the crock pot for 7 hours and served it over white rice. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVJANE62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This just makes me happy! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FuzzySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We really liked this recipe and we doubled it. We like lots of flavor, so we added 4 more cloves of garlic just halved, and then one more jalapeno pepper including the seeds. We also added a can of tomato paste to thicken it up a bit, a tablespoon of beef herb ox, and another teaspoon of chopped ginger. We put in water as needed and for our taste 2 dried hot thai peppers crumbled. We cooked it for 11 hours on low. We ate it over jasmine rice and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this tonight and it turned out alright. My husband liked it and thought the taste was a medium heat. I thought it tasted ok but felt it had too much onion and Jalepino. I also would have preferred the tomatoes to be more of a stewed consistancy rather than diced. I will make this again for my husband with a little more heat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
this was awesome! I served it over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Levesque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States