Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This just makes me happy! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FuzzySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We really liked this recipe and we doubled it. We like lots of flavor, so we added 4 more cloves of garlic just halved, and then one more jalapeno pepper including the seeds. We also added a can of tomato paste to thicken it up a bit, a tablespoon of beef herb ox, and another teaspoon of chopped ginger. We put in water as needed and for our taste 2 dried hot thai peppers crumbled. We cooked it for 11 hours on low. We ate it over jasmine rice and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this tonight and it turned out alright. My husband liked it and thought the taste was a medium heat. I thought it tasted ok but felt it had too much onion and Jalepino. I also would have preferred the tomatoes to be more of a stewed consistancy rather than diced. I will make this again for my husband with a little more heat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
this was awesome! I served it over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Levesque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I cooked this recipe as directed and I found it quite bland. There was heat, but not much else. It's definitely lacking something and I can't quite figure out what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
... maybe 3 1/2 stars because I usually like stews more the day after. Glad I tried it but probably won't make again. I omitted the browning stage and just threw everyone in the slow cooker for 7 hrs. It definitely has some heat so I'm not sure about other comments that it is not spicy. I made sure to use the jalapeno's seeds and substituted red curry paste for the powder so maybe that is it? Also, only used 1/2 cup of beef stock and added 1/2 cup of coconut milk. Still very liquidy but worked out fine over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was not spicy at all and needed a gracious amount of salt. I probably wouldn't make this again as I like very strong flavors. For those who like milder tasting dishes, this is probabl good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
delicious.i cooked this for my family and served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancing_earth77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Nate liked it. Too many onions (used about 3/4 small onion). Wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was good...I just didnt find anything different or great about it. I bought the jalapeno for this recipe(dont have much experience with them) and didnt think it was spicy at all. I think I would give this one a try again, maybe add more curry and cut the jalapenos bigger. Knowing how this taste I'm going to look back at the reviews and see what would make this great bec it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States