Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Yum....that's all I have to say. The only modification I made was to use 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper instead of the jalapeno because I didn't have one. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
So good! I added red lentils and kidney beans too. also, added potatoes to one batch. You can't go wrong with this recipe I think. I doubled the curry powder because I really like that flavor. Thanks for sharing. I'd never made a stew before. this recipe sett me up for success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I didn't really follow the recipe but I still really liked the concept. I added cinnamon and coriander, used red pepper flakes instead of jalapeno, chicken stock instead of beef broth, lamb instead of beef, and tomato paste instead of diced tomatoes. I also added carrots and potatoes. I just threw everything into the slow cooker. I wasn't intentionally being a rebel, but was just trying to use up some leftovers. Next time, I'll actually follow the recipe :) I really liked the idea of using ginger and curry in a slow cooker. I served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Very good, lots of flavor. Seems like everything out of the crockpot tastes the same. This was an exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This recipe needed more curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Delish! Made in the crock pot - 5 hours on high. Floured the beef and browned in a skillet. Used the diced tomatoes with the jalapeno peppers, just a dash of the red pepper sauce and added some diced green peppers and some mushrooms. Otherwise, followed the recipe - smelled so good in the house! Served over baked potatoes diced up - yum! Had a nice flavor without being too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
this is fantastic .. great flavor! I have made this recipe as is, and it's delicious!! the only thing I would do is to dredge your meat in some flour before you sear it... it makes a nice coating on the meat, locks the flavor in, and it also helps to thicken up the sauce while in the slow cooker ..so it's not so runny it's almost like a gravy. for people who don't like too much spice, stick to this EXACT recipe (don't let the jalapeno scare you .. with or without seeds, there is no overpowering spiciness) .. for those who like more of a Ooomph in their food, a little kick... right when the food is done (I do mine for 6 or 7 hours), add another 1 or 2 tsp's (do 1 at first, stir and mix well...go by taste) of curry .. I find the curry flavor kind of gets lost in the diced tomatoes, so if you like your curry/spicyness, try that.. sometimes I add in another clove of garlic, and some more diced onion (half of a small one) towards the end, just for more fresh flavors, and cook until onions are soft...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
The whole family loved it. We served it over brown rice. I had some left over roast beef, which I just chunked up/half shredded. I'm a wimp, so no jalapeno, but others added spice (Scorned Woman hot sauce). I will DEFINITELY make again (and again.) It contained three ingredients the hubs loves: beef, rice, and curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie JOY!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I made this dish for Father's Day. I doubled the recipe with 2 lbs stew meat. The dish was tasty. However, I thought 2 cans of tomatoes was quite overpowering. I used stewed tomatoes instead of the kind recommended in this recipe. The next time I attempt this dish, I'll use less tinned tomatoes and check for taste. I served the stew with Mexican Orzo Pasta. Great combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
OMG, we LOVED this! I used 1 1/2 lbs of stew meat, 4 cloves of garlic and a can of tomatoes with chilies instead of the jalapeno pepper. Cooked on high in the crock pot for 7 hours and served it over white rice. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVJANE62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States