Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Ended up needing a lot more seasoning. I added 2 TBS curry at beginning and ended up adding another at the end. Also add about 2tsp cumin, 1 tsp ground ginder along with the fresh ginger at the beginning. I think what really made it was adding 2 tsp cider vinegar and about 1 tsp sugar. Also, slow cooking for 4 to no more than 5 hrs is way plenty. I made the asian coconut rice from here to go along side it. In the end with all the additional seasoning it came out Ok, and a nice change. May make again if I get into a rut of something different to cook. Just not on my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Made this last night, great recipe! I added more ginger and curry, as we like our spices strong...added cayenne for some extra heat. Also coated the beef in flour before cooking and used sesame oil for good flavor. Cooked in the crockpot on low for 8 hours and served over brown jasmine rice. This ones a keeper, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
served with garlic mashed potatoes, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This was really yummy!!! I read some of the other reviews and doubled the curry powder and I also coated the meat in seasoned flower like another reviewer suggested. My hubby's tummy can't take fresh jalapenos, so I got canned tomatoes with green chiles and that added just the right amount of heat. The only thing I will do differently next time is cut each of the beef cubes in half. To make this more hearty, I added about 3/4 cup of lentils and I served it over cous-cous. I put a dollop of plain yogurt on top. Thanks, for submitting this, we enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made as written, except used beef roast. After cooking in the slow cooker I shred and use as the meat for taco/burritos or as a topping on nachos. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very good. Will make it into my slow cooker favorite recipes. I too breaded the stew meat before frying it for a thicker sauce. I added more garlic and more curry but no jalapenos as my husband can't take the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Yum....that's all I have to say. The only modification I made was to use 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper instead of the jalapeno because I didn't have one. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
So good! I added red lentils and kidney beans too. also, added potatoes to one batch. You can't go wrong with this recipe I think. I doubled the curry powder because I really like that flavor. Thanks for sharing. I'd never made a stew before. this recipe sett me up for success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I didn't really follow the recipe but I still really liked the concept. I added cinnamon and coriander, used red pepper flakes instead of jalapeno, chicken stock instead of beef broth, lamb instead of beef, and tomato paste instead of diced tomatoes. I also added carrots and potatoes. I just threw everything into the slow cooker. I wasn't intentionally being a rebel, but was just trying to use up some leftovers. Next time, I'll actually follow the recipe :) I really liked the idea of using ginger and curry in a slow cooker. I served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Very good, lots of flavor. Seems like everything out of the crockpot tastes the same. This was an exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States