Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is very good and something I would definatly prepare again. As recommended by other cooks, I added another large jalapeno (with seeds,) I upped the ginger by a half teaspoon and I always add extra garlic over what is called for in any recipe. In this case, I doubled the garlic. Next time, I will add a tsp of brown sugar. For some green and added nutrition, I added cooked Trader Joe's organic green beans to the hot crockpot mixture, stirred, and served over jasmine rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This turned out great!! Not too spicy. Used mild curry powder and added extra as suggested by other reviewers also added some mushrooms and red peppers (get extra veggies in anywhere I can) and a few spices we like. Will make again. Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I didn't brown the meat before, just threw everything in the pot together and it came out wonderful. The sauce is thin, so if you like it thicker, add flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stpboy
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was excellent, I followed the instructions perfectly however I cleaned out the seeds from the jalopeno's and I must have lost some spice. It wasn't very spicy and that is what I was looking for. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stpboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
this is very good but hot hot hot so i added some small red potatos in the mix. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I made this a second time and found it was better. I didn't read the reviews the first time and it definitely wasn't spicy enough for us. This time around I used red curry paste instead of curry powder. I served over rice and steamed long beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Delicious! Could have used another jalapeno pepper-had a little kick to it but not enough for our liking. Highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
this was really good. we served it over rice and everyone enjoyed it. i do suggest adding the curry near the end as others suggested because the curry flavor mostly cooked out. i added more and it was fine. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I have a new love for Curry! This was awesome. I followed other suggestions and added extra Curry at the end, and I'm considering an extra Jalapeno. I used cornstarch and water to thicken at the end, and served with mashed potatoes and steamed carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I've made this three times now and it's become one of our favorites. It's so aromatic you can smell it from outside while it's cooking (if the window's open). And it's so easy to make; we just serve it over mashed potatoes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States