Spicy Bean with Bacon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Very good and very flavorful! My 3 year old scarfed it down. The only thing that differed was the beans took forever to become tender, but that always happens to me. Next time I will try it in the slow cooker. Thanks Buffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I've spent years trying to find a good Campbells Bean & Bacon soup clone - - - this is it! Made as directed and it was good. Tweaked it just a bit by noting the following: to keep your beans from staying too hard, don't add salt or tomato sauce until beans are soft; I did the ole "boil the beans for a minute, let sit for an hour" thing with fine results; Used a mixture of navy, northern, and pinto beans; puree apx 1/3rd of soup to give it more consistency; Outstanding flavor - my thanks for the recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I enjoyed this very much. I will probably make it again but either leave a few jalapeno seeds in there for more spice or add a little cayenne pepper. I may also try it with a different bean like black bean or adzuki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Great soup recipe. Unfortunately did not have any cilantro, but it was great, all the same. The only other thing that I changed was using black beans instead of pinto beans, because that is what I had on hand. Thanks for a great recipe, Buffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
i love recipes that require simple ingredients and still yield a surprisingly good result. i halved this and only used 3 slices of bacon and it still was very good. make sure you watch this and keep adding liquid as you go or the beans will burn. i didnt have broth so i used water and added the bouillon once the beans had softened quite a bit(i have had bad luck w/ salting beans before they have become tender in the past).hubby really liked this. paired w/ quesadillas made w/leftover shredded beef this made a very inexpensive meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This recipe is great! I left out the cilantro and jalapeno for milder palates. It reminded me of my favorite "canned" soup I had as a child. I made the recipe as stated except used canned white beans instead of soaking and cooking the pintos. It was good, just a little too salty. Next time I used low-sodium broth, bacon, tomato sauce, and beans. What a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yixing222
Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
my husband and i thought this was great. i followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I was skeptical that a recipe with such basic ingredients would be any good, but this soup is delicious! I didn't add the tomatoes until the end, when the beans were soft. I made a 1/4 recipe and only used one large pepper, but it was plenty spicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Whew! I'd give 10 stars if I could. Only change was no cilantro but it didn't need it. This rocks. We ate the whole pot on this rainy day couldn't help ourselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
When I cook for the homeless, this recipe is easy and multiplies great! I usually make it with 10 lbs of dry pintos. I substitute turkey bacon and beef kielbasa for the bacon. Everyone loves this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States