Spicy Bean with Bacon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I've spent years trying to find a good Campbells Bean & Bacon soup clone - - - this is it! Made as directed and it was good. Tweaked it just a bit by noting the following: to keep your beans from staying too hard, don't add salt or tomato sauce until beans are soft; I did the ole "boil the beans for a minute, let sit for an hour" thing with fine results; Used a mixture of navy, northern, and pinto beans; puree apx 1/3rd of soup to give it more consistency; Outstanding flavor - my thanks for the recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Very good and very flavorful! My 3 year old scarfed it down. The only thing that differed was the beans took forever to become tender, but that always happens to me. Next time I will try it in the slow cooker. Thanks Buffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
When I cook for the homeless, this recipe is easy and multiplies great! I usually make it with 10 lbs of dry pintos. I substitute turkey bacon and beef kielbasa for the bacon. Everyone loves this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was a very easy recipe...used green chiles instead of jalapenos (personal taste), my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This could have worked well, but all those peppers was way too much for me. One, maybe even a half of one, would have been enough. Needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This recipe is great! I left out the cilantro and jalapeno for milder palates. It reminded me of my favorite "canned" soup I had as a child. I made the recipe as stated except used canned white beans instead of soaking and cooking the pintos. It was good, just a little too salty. Next time I used low-sodium broth, bacon, tomato sauce, and beans. What a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yixing222
Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
1. This soup was absolutely delicious! 2. When I made this I used 5 cups chicken stock almost 2 cups of beans, a whole large jalepeno, half a package of bacon, and almost a whole large can of tomato sauce. This turned out WAY too spicy. It also was not meaty enough and a bit watery. The beans also didn't cook in time advertised in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I was skeptical that a recipe with such basic ingredients would be any good, but this soup is delicious! I didn't add the tomatoes until the end, when the beans were soft. I made a 1/4 recipe and only used one large pepper, but it was plenty spicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is Awesome! I made it the first time per the recipe as written. tasted just like the one out of the can. I did find that I liked it when I pureed half of the soup. This time I am making it with chopped green chili's instead of the jalapeno's. Smells good cooking right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale Hubenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Scrumptous!! I used 4 cloves of garlic instead of the powder and added 2 T. cumin for an "ole" punch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States