Spicy Bean with Bacon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Very good and very flavorful! My 3 year old scarfed it down. The only thing that differed was the beans took forever to become tender, but that always happens to me. Next time I will try it in the slow cooker. Thanks Buffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I enjoyed this very much. I will probably make it again but either leave a few jalapeno seeds in there for more spice or add a little cayenne pepper. I may also try it with a different bean like black bean or adzuki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Great soup recipe. Unfortunately did not have any cilantro, but it was great, all the same. The only other thing that I changed was using black beans instead of pinto beans, because that is what I had on hand. Thanks for a great recipe, Buffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
i love recipes that require simple ingredients and still yield a surprisingly good result. i halved this and only used 3 slices of bacon and it still was very good. make sure you watch this and keep adding liquid as you go or the beans will burn. i didnt have broth so i used water and added the bouillon once the beans had softened quite a bit(i have had bad luck w/ salting beans before they have become tender in the past).hubby really liked this. paired w/ quesadillas made w/leftover shredded beef this made a very inexpensive meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This recipe is great! I left out the cilantro and jalapeno for milder palates. It reminded me of my favorite "canned" soup I had as a child. I made the recipe as stated except used canned white beans instead of soaking and cooking the pintos. It was good, just a little too salty. Next time I used low-sodium broth, bacon, tomato sauce, and beans. What a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yixing222
Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Pretty good soup. I left out the cilantro (not a fan). Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
my husband and i thought this was great. i followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I was skeptical that a recipe with such basic ingredients would be any good, but this soup is delicious! I didn't add the tomatoes until the end, when the beans were soft. I made a 1/4 recipe and only used one large pepper, but it was plenty spicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I've spent years trying to find a good Campbells Bean & Bacon soup clone - - - this is it! Made as directed and it was good. Tweaked it just a bit by noting the following: to keep your beans from staying too hard, don't add salt or tomato sauce until beans are soft; I did the ole "boil the beans for a minute, let sit for an hour" thing with fine results; Used a mixture of navy, northern, and pinto beans; puree apx 1/3rd of soup to give it more consistency; Outstanding flavor - my thanks for the recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Whew! I'd give 10 stars if I could. Only change was no cilantro but it didn't need it. This rocks. We ate the whole pot on this rainy day couldn't help ourselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States