Spicy Bean with Bacon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was pretty good. My husband and son like it a lot. I'd make it again for them. The only change was to soak my beans overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This could have worked well, but all those peppers was way too much for me. One, maybe even a half of one, would have been enough. Needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This was one of the best bean soup recipes I have ever tasted! Highly recommend it!Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is an excellent soup. I added 1/2 cup of Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce and 1 tsp of liquid smoke to this to give it a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
After all the five star ratings, I expected a lot more. I found it extremely (!!!!!) bland and am now trying to figure out what to put in 20 finished cups of this soup to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
When I cook for the homeless, this recipe is easy and multiplies great! I usually make it with 10 lbs of dry pintos. I substitute turkey bacon and beef kielbasa for the bacon. Everyone loves this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Whew! I'd give 10 stars if I could. Only change was no cilantro but it didn't need it. This rocks. We ate the whole pot on this rainy day couldn't help ourselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I've spent years trying to find a good Campbells Bean & Bacon soup clone - - - this is it! Made as directed and it was good. Tweaked it just a bit by noting the following: to keep your beans from staying too hard, don't add salt or tomato sauce until beans are soft; I did the ole "boil the beans for a minute, let sit for an hour" thing with fine results; Used a mixture of navy, northern, and pinto beans; puree apx 1/3rd of soup to give it more consistency; Outstanding flavor - my thanks for the recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I was skeptical that a recipe with such basic ingredients would be any good, but this soup is delicious! I didn't add the tomatoes until the end, when the beans were soft. I made a 1/4 recipe and only used one large pepper, but it was plenty spicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
my husband and i thought this was great. i followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States