Spicy Bean with Bacon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is Awesome! I made it the first time per the recipe as written. tasted just like the one out of the can. I did find that I liked it when I pureed half of the soup. This time I am making it with chopped green chili's instead of the jalapeno's. Smells good cooking right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale Hubenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Used two small poblano peppers instead of all the jalpeno peppers and it was just the right spice. Added more carrot and a few small stalks of celery and fresh tomatoes instead of canned sauce as I had produce to use up, same with real garlic rather than powdered - all but the youngest child ate it up - even though the veggies were pureed so he couldn't "find" them to pick them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
We enjoyed this soup. My husband thought it was just right for spice. I thought it was a little spicier than I usually like but I ate it anyway. I only used 1 pound of beans and didn't add the tomato sauce until the end of cooking time like some other reviews mentioned. I also pureed a portion and added it back to the soup to make it a little thicker. Loved the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnston, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Scrumptous!! I used 4 cloves of garlic instead of the powder and added 2 T. cumin for an "ole" punch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Delicious! Scaled the recipe way down, but used more beans and onion and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was OK. Too much tomato sauce, in my opinion. Might try it again with less (or none).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was a very easy recipe...used green chiles instead of jalapenos (personal taste), my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Used fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder and added cilantro and salt 15 minutes before serving. Otherwise made as directed and really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was delicious I did adjust it though. I had a ham bone and some ham which I used instead of the bacon. I did add some bacon grease. I substituted 2 cans of rotel tomatoes (original) for the tomato sauce and jalapeno peppers. I also left out the cilantro. (2 cans for 8 servings)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
1. This soup was absolutely delicious! 2. When I made this I used 5 cups chicken stock almost 2 cups of beans, a whole large jalepeno, half a package of bacon, and almost a whole large can of tomato sauce. This turned out WAY too spicy. It also was not meaty enough and a bit watery. The beans also didn't cook in time advertised in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States