Spicy Bean with Bacon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
My last review got posted before I was finished writing- used 1/2 can diced green chillies instead of jalapeño, one can organic pinto drained, 28 oz can whole peeled tomatoes-drained, 4 cups chicken broth. Sautéed bacon onion garlic carrots potatoes. Put all in vitamix on soup setting except bacon and beans- added bacon for a few pulses and dumped beans in and stirred. Toddler loved it! Husband added cholula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Oh, yes. To add to my review, I used turkey bacon and dried cilantro and it was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Stark Childress
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My family spent two day in this soup (because we make our own chicken stock which just makes everything better, if you have the time I recommend that), and let me tell you it was totally worth it. Not only did my house smell incredible while it was cooking, but it was probably one of the best soups I've ever had. Now, I have read other reviews about the peppers making it too spicy, well this is a SPICY soup, it's in the title. And the spiciness of the peppers is always a game of chance, you might get mild ones and you might not. We were lucky and the peppers we got were nice and spicy and added a lot of flavor. The only thing we did different was add a little more of each ingredient (we have a big family and we eat a lot). We did make our own chicken stock to use the day before and I recommend homemade corn bread as a side, it complimented the soup very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I made this as directed, except that I soaked the beans overnight and pureed part of the soup. I thought the soup was excellent. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was a good recipe. The only thing I did different was I used a small can of chopped jalapenos. It had a little zing but was really good. I would suggest that you not add any salt until you let the bacon cook with the beans for awhile. Some bacon can be really salty. This way you can season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Hess
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
scaled this down to a half recipe.. it is delicious and my house smells heavenly. i didnt change anything and cant wait to have it later with a big pan of cornbread. ill make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was very good. It makes a lot. I did use green chilis instead of the Jalepenos. I was afraid it would be too hot. Next time I will try using a few jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was very good... had to ad lib on the peppers though. Didn't have any whole jalapenos, so I seeded some pickled jalapeno slices and chopped them up. Also didn't have actual Cilantro, so I used some Ground Corriander (about 1/2 tsp.), which is the seed of Cilantro. Soup turned out great. Oh, and for those of you that think it's too thin... I let it simmer the first hour covered... then continued to simmer uncovered for a couple more hours. Reduced beautifully to a nice (I'd have to say creamy) consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This can really taste like Bean & Bacon soup with 16 oz. bag navy beans, water, grated carrot, diced celery stalk & leaves, a little piece of onion diced. I used ham flavored bouillon & chicken bouillon, one bay leaf, 8 oz. can tomato sauce and black pepper. I cooked diced bacon and added it in after it was almost done cooking. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Very good and easy. I actually simmered ham hocks and bacon ends for several hours and then made the soup in this. mmmmm mmmm mmmm Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States