Spicy Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Very good salsa. I made it on a few occasions. The only reasons I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because whenever I make it for a party, other dishes seem to disappear faster, which makes me think that other's aren't loving it as much as me and my husband. I actually think the recipe gets more flavourful on day 3. Would make again but in half the quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is excellent just as is but is a super addition to other dishes as well. This is not the typical recipe of the presumed definition or association with the word 'salsa' that we most all have. We followed the original recipe as is, although we used fresh garden tomatoes instead of canned. I like heat but my wife does not, so the recipe as written was fine for her. She jarred her own portion and I added more jalapenos to the rest for my taste. I've also added it to my personal bowl of our own homemade chile and really enjoyed the flavor it added. I did the same with some ground beef Bar-B-Q (sloppy joe) and it again added a new taste that I really enjoyed. Have made this twice and will again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is so good. Using the fresh tiny cherry tomatoes quartered worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by carlenemarie1
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I can go on and on (and on) about how good this is! I doubled the recipe and made a HUGE bowl of it for a party I had, and there were zero leftovers. I followed the receipe exactly the way it was written. Great thing about this is you can use it as a topping for enchiladas or tacos, or just as a simple salsa. Anyway you use it, it's to die for good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlenemarie1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Another one for my black book of recipes. I think next time I will add green onions for a more Asian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Honestly, I'd have to say, I've never made the recipe "exactly" according to the ingredients listed but using the modifications suggested by Lucia de Wagner. I'm sure it is great either way -- I just prefer the lighter and healthier version with fresh garlic cloves. The recipe is great and I'm grateful it was posted because it is becoming a regular item! Great with tortilla chips, as suggested, but also as a topping/dressing for green salad, on its own in lunches, with eggs and as a topping or side with tacos or burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
done twice now and everyone loved it - they even went home with doggy-bags.....will do it again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I made this for a summer party and it was gone before we knew it. I added chopped avocados because we cannot get enough of avocados in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Delicious, I only made a few changes, I grilled fresh tomatoes and jalapeno peppers to give it a little smoked flavor a tip I picked up from a Spanish neighbor, and added fresh cilantro. I also used lemon juice and olive oil like other reviewers did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This turned out perfect. It tastes great and looks very authentic. I omitted the jalapenos and instead added 3 teaspoons of Tabasco sauce. It gave it a very subtle heat and worked very well with the mixture. Also I followed some advice and didn't use Italian dressing, instead I used 1/2 cup lemon juice, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and a few shakes of salt and pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,068) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States