Spicy Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was soooo good! I used frozen corn instead of canned, red onion, red bell pepper, petite diced tomatoes and dry Italian dressing mix. I added lime juice, red wine vinegar, and a little olive oil. I also seasoned with chili powder, cumin and coriander. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Added; cumin, chili power, cilantro and used fresh Roma tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made this for my nephews graduation party. That was in July and it was a warm day = not mayonnaise weather. I followed the recipe except that I used a can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos, as they are always in my pantry. Everyone loved it. My brother, who is not a mayo based salad person was able to eat it and loved it. I sent him the recipe and he has since made it a few times also. I served it with the tortilla chip cups, easier for dipping or filling with a spoon. I plan on making this for holiday gatherings, it's healthy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
My husband really liked this dip. I left out the onion and bell pepper, requested by my husband. I think the onion would have added a bit more flavor, but I'm not upset I left out the bell pepper. Very good! Also, didn't add as much dressing as the recipe called for. I think it's best to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I use Rotel for the diced tomatoes, add teaspoon chopped garlic and some sliced black olives. So good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Oh My God was this an incredible and suculent recipe!!! I do change a few things in it like "lucia de wagner" does in her review. Instead of the italian dressing I use lemon juice and lime juice. I add fresh chopped cilantro and tomatoes and a bit of olive oil. This is always a winner at cookouts. I usually bring with me the printed recipe with my changes to give out to those who ask and rave about it. Thank you Susan for the recipe and Lucia for the review changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Great with fritos scoops; all the fritos were gone at the party, but still lots of salsa left. I used red onion and made my own Italian dressing, using good seasons and balsamic vinegar. Instead of canned tomatoes, I halved some grape tomatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Fantastic with "hint of lime" or "hint of jalapeño" chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
And the crowd goes wild! I made this salsa for Sunday dinner for friends and family, it was a HUGE hit! Doubled the recipe, eliminated the black eyed peas and salad dressing and took the advice of other reviews and added lime juice instead. I also used all fresh ingredients, no cans! Sadly, I had NO leftovers, but happy it was enjoyed by all. Will definitely make it again, SO EASY, figure friendly and inexpensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Wonderful salsa. It is my husband's favorite. I make a couple changes- omit black-eyed peas because I don't like them, add avocado, use more green peppers because we love them. Also, I make my own Italian dressing from a recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,072) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States