Spicy BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This chicken was tasty and moist. We're rating this just four stars because we felt the sauce still needed a little "something" added to the flavor, but it was quite a nice base recipe. We'll have fun experimenting with some additional spices. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This is excellent!! I did use sugar free ketchup (for hubby who watches sugar intake) but definitely didn't leave out the brown sugar! I let it simmer a little longer to thicken up (the s/f ketchup was very loose compared to "real" ketchup) and I had no trouble with flareups... it did come out rather spicy this way... so I'm guessing that the sweetness of regular ketchup would have tempered the spice. I would definitely make it again (but maybe decrease the amt of hot sauce if doing a reduced sugar version)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is very similar to my standard bbq sauce. I omit oil and add about 1 - 1 1/2 tsp of celery seed (and usually double the recipe.) I mix sauce all together and cover cut up chicken, ribs etc and bake in oven or crock pot. The extra cooked sauce is really good on top of mashed potatoes and my kids LOVE extra onions in this sauce - and they normally pick out the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
For those concerned about burning chicken on the grill the alternate is grill then take chicken and extra sauce and put under the BROILER watching the chicken carefully. You will still have that grill flavor and no burned offering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Great BBQ chicken, we totally loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Wonderful!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
My boyfriend and I really liked this recipe. I didn't have any Worcestershire sauce, but it still tasted really good w/o it. I'll definately make it again. However if I only had enough sauce for about 2lbs of chicken so I will make a little more sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyalusing, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Laceyville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very tasty after a few modifications. I used 2 cloves of garlic, 2 Tbs. brown sugar and 1/4-1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper! In order to get a thicker sauce, I pureed the sauce after cooking. I used skinless boneless chicken breasts and basted the last 6 minutes of grilling. **Hint for not burning sauce, turn off the side of the grill that has the chicken on it while basting.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shellsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Loved the flavor and ease of sauce but have to admit I had a heck of a time with the grill flaming up and the skin getting burnt. Any suggestions? I finally got frustrated enough that I finished it off in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZ Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creighton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This recipe turned out great. I grilled the chicken until the skin was extra dark and then peeled it of. I mixed the sauce with jamaican jerk mairinade and it was great. We finished of 12 pieaces in one night. I will defininely remember this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States