Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This dish was phenomenal. I put all of the seeds from the chili peppers in, and it was a little too spicy for my taste, though I love spicy food. Next time, I would use just two chili peppers. I also omitted the mushrooms and added red and green bell peppers instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Really tasty dish. Added - diced celery, green pepper, fresh ginger & some fish sauce. Fresh basil is a MUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TiaCA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
It was really good! This was my first time using oyster sauce. I only used 2 T. After looking at various grocery stores, I finally found chili oil at Cost Plus World Market. For the chili peppers I used seeded and deveined jalapenos. I halved the recipe and only used one jalapeno. Not a fan of mushrooms so I used green bell pepper. This was so easy to make. I chopped up all my ingredients beforehand so that it was easier to cook. Definitely will be making this dish again....maybe add another jalapeno and another veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was very easy and very tasty. And boy... they weren't kidding when they said spicy! I used 3 peppers like the recipe suggested and it was a bit much. I think next time I'll use just 1 or maybe 2. But, the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
OMG, this is my new favorite recipe. My son made this using a 1/2 of a habanero and it about blew us away. This was the best tasting meal I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I'll admit I was a little dissapointed. I expected more after reading all the great reviews. It was good. I expected superb! Adding the fresh basil added wonderful flavor & improved the dish. I did use chile paste plus veg. oil instead of chile oil. Used one large pepper only. My husband said it was good but not sure if he'll request again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Awesome dish! Has a flavor similar to drunken noodles, minus the noddles. I added sugar snap peas in with the mushrroms and onions and substituted 3tbls. fish sauce plus 2 tbls. chicken broth for the oyster sauce and cut the garlic salt in half. Will definitely hold on to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Making the recipe as is would be soooo salty! I only used 3 tablespoons oyster sauce and omitted the garlic salt and the flavor was wonderful. I like a little more sweetness so I did up the sugar a little as well. Otherwise, excellent recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I've made this twice now and I LOVE it! This time I used ground turkey, the texture was different but much easier to make and still quite good. I think I may even try to make this while camping this summer - my friends will be amazed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Absolutely delicious! This turned out as good as the chili basil chicken at my local Thai restaurant. I did cut the oyster sauce back to 3T after reading others' reviews and I used bell peppers instead of mushrooms. I had jalapeno peppers and used only about half the amount in the recipe. It turned out plenty hot enough for everyone at the table. This recipe is definitely going into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States