Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My family and I love spicy food and Thai food so this recipe was great for us. It was easy to make and tasted so good.I will for sure make this a regular meal in our house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
The basil really makes this delicious dish! I am gluten intolerant and my husband is allergic to shellfish, so I replaced the oyster sauce with 2tbs fish sauce, 2 tbs tamari, and 1 tbs honey. I also added sliced red peppers and green beans. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
wonderful! I like extra spicy food so I used a spicy oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This recipe was great! A little on the spicy side though - I will use 1/2 chili oil, 1/2 olive oil in the future. (I ended up adding some brown sugar to combat the spiciness and it still tasted awesome.) Also, I turned this into more of a stir fry and threw in some Sugar Snap Peas and Baby Carrots along with the Mushrooms. And I chopped some Cilantro with the Basil... Served with Coconut Rice instead of White Rice & it was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Best Thai food I ever tried at home! I substituted serano peppers for the chili peppers (store didn't have any chili peppers) and it was excellent with the substitution. If you like your food spicy this is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steveweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wixom, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Loved this recipe..definitely a keeper. I used all of the ingredients except for the onion and mushrooms. I added red bell pepper. I also omitted the garlic salt, and upped the cloves of garlic to 4. Like other reviewers, I added a cup of water when adding the oyster sauce, to give more sauce and cut down on saltiness. This definitely had some kick, but I also did not take the seeds out of the peppers. I like my Thai food spicy. I used rice noodles and this was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This was excellent. Easy, quick, healthy. My boyfriend actually commented on this dish and asked that I keep it in the rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIANNEV
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Super tasty!!! But very spicy. I've never used some of the ingredients before and had to go on a hunt but well worth it it. I was a fool in thinking more chili oil would be a good idea, stay with the recipe or use less of the spicy stuff, or use olive oil !! Great as left overs as well. I replaced the basil with green onions, still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was a very good recipe but to cut down on the salt I used garlic powder on the chicken. I added yellow and red pepper as well. I added 1/4 cup of low sodium chicken broth with the oyster sauce to make it saucier. I did not have chili oil or fresh chili pepper so I added 2 level tsps of Sambal Oelek -fresh ground chili paste to the oil and garlic. It worked well and was nice and warm but not too hot. Heat lovers could add more if you really like your lips to burn. Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Vegetarian here, so I made a few subs: I used Quorn (brand) "Chicken" Tenders rather then real chicken and it turned out FANTASTIC. I also could not get any thai basil, so I used regular basil. I doubled up and used 2-3 large bunches of leaves. I also only had sesame flavored chili oil on hand, and used that. I quartered baby bella mushrooms and a quarter of a red pepper cut into thin strips as well as a hand full of snap peas. I omitted the the chills since I didn't want to run to the store. I ended up serving it over thin green beans, and even my kids loved it, which is amazing since 7 and 10 year olds can be picky at times. Everything else I did per the recipe (well, except I added red pepper flakes once dished out so the kids wouldn't burn their lips from the spiciness) and I must say it's a keeper. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glitchkitch

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States