Spicy Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Super tasty!!! But very spicy. I've never used some of the ingredients before and had to go on a hunt but well worth it it. I was a fool in thinking more chili oil would be a good idea, stay with the recipe or use less of the spicy stuff, or use olive oil !! Great as left overs as well. I replaced the basil with green onions, still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was a very good recipe but to cut down on the salt I used garlic powder on the chicken. I added yellow and red pepper as well. I added 1/4 cup of low sodium chicken broth with the oyster sauce to make it saucier. I did not have chili oil or fresh chili pepper so I added 2 level tsps of Sambal Oelek -fresh ground chili paste to the oil and garlic. It worked well and was nice and warm but not too hot. Heat lovers could add more if you really like your lips to burn. Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Vegetarian here, so I made a few subs: I used Quorn (brand) "Chicken" Tenders rather then real chicken and it turned out FANTASTIC. I also could not get any thai basil, so I used regular basil. I doubled up and used 2-3 large bunches of leaves. I also only had sesame flavored chili oil on hand, and used that. I quartered baby bella mushrooms and a quarter of a red pepper cut into thin strips as well as a hand full of snap peas. I omitted the the chills since I didn't want to run to the store. I ended up serving it over thin green beans, and even my kids loved it, which is amazing since 7 and 10 year olds can be picky at times. Everything else I did per the recipe (well, except I added red pepper flakes once dished out so the kids wouldn't burn their lips from the spiciness) and I must say it's a keeper. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glitchkitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
So delicious! I halved the recipe and used slightly less oyster sauce. I also didn't have chilies on hand so mine wasn't overly spicy. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Delicious, moist and low fat! Still a fair bit of sugar though but a relatively easy recipe that came out perfect first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I left out the sugar also I didn't have the peppers or oil so I used Asian hot sauce and a dash of cayenne pepper... I only had dried basil but it was still delicious....will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Loved it! To make it a little less spicy I just halved the chili oil and replaced the other half with olive oil. I also followed other comments and put in more fresh garlic and omitted the garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was awesome. I made as written with the exception of using 2 dried chili peppers which I removed after cooking and using only 1/2 bunch of basil. It was really great. I was OK with the amount of heat, but might replace 1/2 tbsp of the chili oil with regular oil next time just to dial it back a notch. Definitley don't overcook the chicken, as soon as it's white on all sides add the onion and sauce, everything will cook through by the time the onions are done. I used 5 tbsp of oyster sauce and I didn't think it was oversalty at all but there are probably variations with different brands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was great but a little too spicy for my taste. Next time I would omit the chilli oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Very good, authentic recipe... VERY spicy! My stomach could only handle so much, but it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States